cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR Reset Request

HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

SNR Reset Request

Have recently suffered from some severe line problems on my very long line (lots of noise and resyncs) which now seem to have been resolved by BT.  I did of course try connecting at the master socket to confirm that the problem was not my wiring.  RouterStats-Lite now shows no noise spikes at all in the last 36 hours but also tells me my noise margin has increased to 15dB.  Could a PlusNet support person reset the line for me so that I can get back to a reasonable sync speed?
Many thanks
HughA
10 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi HughA,
Bear in mind that if I reset the SNR it will kick off a training period, so any performance related faults raised during that will have to wait until it's complete. That said, I'll go ahead if you're ok with that.
Jojo Smiley
HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi Jojo
That's a good point.  I'll wait for a few more days to see if the present low noise levels continue and if they do I'll contact you again.
HughA
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

OK, just let me know if you want to go ahead Smiley
HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi Jojo
My line seems very stable now so please go ahead with the line reset .
Many thanks
HughA
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,422
Thanks: 650
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

With a stable connection the snr goes down on its own. For myself the line will drop on its own after 20-30 days with the snr going down in increments of 3. All the way down to a dire 3 which is not so good.
With a snr of 15 though 3 months would be a long time to wait to get back to 6 in that way.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi Hugh,
done that now. It can take 24 hours to take effect.
Jojo Smiley
HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi Jojo
It has taken effect already.  Sync has increased from just over 2Mbps to 3.776Mbps!  I realise this won't last as my line usually seems best with a 9dB margin.
Many thanks
HughA
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi HughA,
I have raised your profile to 2800 to allow for your new BT IP profile. This should take effect shortly.
Jojo Smiley
HughA
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 30-07-2011

Re: SNR Reset Request

Hi Jojo
The line is very stable now and I'm getting a speed test result of 2.6Mbps which is as good as I have ever had!
Thanks for the great service!
HughA
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: SNR Reset Request

great news, glad I could help Smiley