cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR Pains!

hangar18
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 08-03-2009

SNR Pains!


Hello Everyone...
I've been experiencing noise on my telephone line for sometime and back on the 18th Feb, BT finally came out and repaired the fault. (They have actually switched to a different Pair on the telegraph pole outside the house.) However, because of the noise on the line, my SNR was increased to 15db and as a result, my connection speed has reduced significantly. I had a solid 8128 sync speed prior to the fault.. It's currently syncing at 6688, with an IP profile of 5000.
I raised a ticket and the support guys were great. But, because it was difficult for me to go through their fault finding process for various reasons, I'm still sat here with the same profile. I know that over the next month or two, the SNR should improve, but I'm impatient!  Roll eyes
@Jameseh... Is there no way you can "push a button" and re-initiate a new 10 day training period?  (ticket ID was 27906386)
Thanks
John
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: SNR Pains!

Hi
I have a similar issue (noted on another thread) and was told that there was no point (I paraphrase a little bit) resetting the SNR.  In my case BT came out within a day and fixed the problem, but my SNR has still gone from 9 to 15.
John
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: SNR Pains!

Did you not see my response to that John?
Hopefully James can pick these up.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: SNR Pains!

Yes thanks.  I'll  wait to see if it improves.
John
muymalestado
Dabbler
Posts: 25
Registered: 07-04-2008

Re: SNR Pains!

Late to this party but interested.  Same here one year ago as OP - BT guy switched us to another pair, BAM went the speed down from 3000 to 50.  No one would believe there was a problem.  Thankfully 2 months later a JCB did the biz on the line taking out 30 houses with it.  We got another new pair and speeds over 4000.
And they keep asking if we have changed filters or handsets!
The interest in this problem won't go away.  Our speeds are down from steady 3000+ to 900.  Anyone with a JCB is welcome to a shot at our line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: SNR Pains!

Hi muymalestado,
I assume the speeds you mention above are throughput speeds from a speedtester.
We need several bits of info to try and assess what's happening with your line, so if you could do the following -
Post your modem/router's ADSL line stats DS & US Sync/line rate, attenuation, SNRM (Noise Margin) and Power. If you don't know how to access them, try here for help http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
Run the BT speedtester http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ and post results
Check your PN profile https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed (login required) (delete the last 6 digits of phone number if displayed when posting)
Run the PN speedchecker http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/
Finally, check your exchange VP status here http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
HTH.