cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Routing to Opendns

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Routing to Opendns

Opendns appears to be routing to a server in Frankfurt in place of the one in London.
Anyone else with this problem and is it a issue for Plusnet or Opendns to resolve?
To test:
nslookup -type=txt which.opendns.com. 208.67.222.222
My result=
Non-authoritative answer:
which.opendns.com       text =
       "1.fra"
Also
tracert 208.67.222.222
 1     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.1.254
 2    32 ms    31 ms    30 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag02.plus.net [195.166.xxx.xxx]
 3    15 ms    16 ms    15 ms  link-b-central10.ptw-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.150]
 4    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  te2-3.ptw-gw02.plus.net [212.159.1.58]
 5    15 ms    15 ms    22 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
 6    15 ms    15 ms    16 ms  217.163.45.181
 7    31 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
 8    30 ms    31 ms    30 ms  ae-59-114.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.125]
 9    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ae-45-45.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.143.102]
10    31 ms    31 ms    30 ms  ae-91-91.csw4.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.90]
11    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ae-92-92.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.105]
12    32 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ae-48-48.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.143.145]
13    31 ms    31 ms    30 ms  ae-81-81.csw3.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.140.10]
14     *       31 ms    30 ms  ae-3-80.edge5.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.154.137]
15    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  p0-0-0.dblnir2-cr2.bbnplanet.net [195.16.160.78]
16    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
Not very good for accessing CDN content.
76 REPLIES
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: Routing to Opendns

From my tracert:
Quote
C:\>tracert 208.67.222.222
Tracing route to resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    24 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    19 ms    15 ms    15 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191
]
  3    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.13
2]
  4    15 ms    14 ms    17 ms  fa0-0.pth-gw1.plus.net [212.159.1.60]
  5    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.249]
  6    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
  7    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-57-112.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.117]
  8    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-45-45.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.143.102]
  9    30 ms    30 ms    29 ms  ae-71-71.csw2.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.82]
10    44 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-72-72.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.97]
11    30 ms    30 ms    29 ms  ae-47-47.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.143.14
1]
12    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  ae-61-61.csw1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.140.2]
13     *        *       30 ms  ae-1-60.edge5.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.154.9]
14    31 ms    30 ms    29 ms  p0-0-0.dblnir2-cr2.bbnplanet.net [195.16.160.78]
15    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
Trace complete.

Makes me wonder if this had anything to do with a couple of problems I've been having lately with uploading to YouTube and even with YouTube tracing to PN.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

yes same for me as well.
traceroute 208.67.222.123
traceroute to 208.67.222.123 (208.67.222.123), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  192.168.0.254 (192.168.0.254)  69.157 ms  69.100 ms  69.079 ms
2  lo0-central10.pcl-ag05.plus.net (195.166.128.186)  22.076 ms  24.187 ms  26.437 ms
3  link7-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.140)  26.416 ms  26.393 ms  26.390 ms
4  232.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.232)  28.622 ms  32.970 ms  32.959 ms
5  xe-11-2-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net (212.187.201.213)  26.324 ms  26.308 ms  26.301 ms
6  ae-3-3.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.141.86)  38.473 ms  33.644 ms  35.936 ms
7  ae-91-91.csw4.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.90)  35.829 ms ae-71-71.csw2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.82)  35.796 ms ae-61-61.csw1.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.7Cool  35.781 ms
8  ae-82-82.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.101)  38.001 ms ae-72-72.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.97)  37.995 ms ae-92-92.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.161.105)  37.973 ms
9  ae-45-45.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.143.133)  37.963 ms ae-48-48.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.143.145)  35.869 ms ae-45-45.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.143.133)  35.877 ms
10  ae-91-91.csw4.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.140.14)  38.114 ms ae-61-61.csw1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.140.2)  34.705 ms  35.714 ms
11  * * ae-4-90.edge5.Frankfurt1.Level3.net (4.69.154.201)  34.312 ms
12  p0-0-0.dblnir2-cr2.bbnplanet.net (195.16.160.7Cool  36.532 ms  34.313 ms  36.5
Shocked
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,116
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: Routing to Opendns

Keep an eye on http://system.opendns.com and see if anything pops up for London issues. It would also be useful to have a trace route from a non-PlusNet connection to compare.
That's RPM to you!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Routing to Opendns

Here you go (I've had to hide the beginning as it reveals the company):
H:\>tracert 208.67.222.123
Tracing route to resolver1-fs.opendns.com [208.67.222.123]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  2    7 ms    6 ms    8 ms  <internal>
  3    24 ms    22 ms    24 ms  <internal>
  4    *      12 ms    12 ms  <hidden>.uk.exponential-e.net [195.66.*.*]
  5    23 ms    5 ms    6 ms  gi0-0p226.rtr1.lon.opendns.com [195.66.237.70]
  6    1 ms    1 ms    1 ms  resolver1-fs.opendns.com [208.67.222.123]
Trace complete.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Routing to Opendns

From the office (BT Business)
1    1 ms    1 ms    1 ms  BTBusinessHub.home [192.168.1.254]
  2    26 ms    23 ms    23 ms  host81-134-64-1.in-addr.btopenworld.com [81.134.64.1]
  3    23 ms    24 ms    23 ms  213.120.182.141
  4    24 ms    24 ms    23 ms  213.120.161.82
  5    23 ms    23 ms    24 ms  31.55.164.63
  6    24 ms    24 ms    23 ms  31.55.164.107
  7    24 ms    24 ms    23 ms  acc1-10GigE-0-2-0-5.bm.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.248.106]
  8    33 ms    31 ms    31 ms  core1-te0-13-0-4.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.248.8]
  9    31 ms    31 ms    30 ms  core1-pos5-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [194.74.65.122]
10    31 ms    30 ms    30 ms  t2as1-te8-3.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.153]
11    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  166-49-211-38.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.38]
12    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  opendns-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.73.218]
13    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms  resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

Looks like a plusnet problem then, where's a rep when you need one  Roll eyes
I've reported the issue to Opendns, don't know if they can do anything from their end.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

nslookup -type=txt which.opendns.com. 208.67.222.123
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: -type=txt
Address: 67.215.65.132

Non-authoritative answer:
123.222.67.208.in-addr.arpa name = resolver1-fs.opendns.com.
Using Dig to my local box using resolvers 208.67.222.123 208.67.220.123
dig @192.168.0.15 txt which.opendns.com +noall +short
"5.fra"
Any comment on this at all plusnet ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

Yes it's still routing to a opendns server in Frankfurt, it should route to a server in London.
Quote
nslookup -type=txt which.opendns.com. 208.67.222.222
Server:  resolver1.opendns.com
Address:  208.67.222.222
Non-authoritative answer:
which.opendns.com       text =
       "1.fra"

Note:" fra" = Frankfurt
Quote
tracert 208.67.222.222
Tracing route to resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.1.254
 2    20 ms    15 ms    16 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag02.plus.net [195.166.xxx.xxx]
 3    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  link-b-central10.ptw-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.150]
 4    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  te2-3.ptw-gw02.plus.net [212.159.1.58]
 5    16 ms    18 ms    16 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
 6    31 ms    22 ms    20 ms  217.163.45.181
 7    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
 8    31 ms    30 ms    32 ms  ae-59-114.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.125]
 9    33 ms    30 ms    31 ms  ae-45-45.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.143.102]
10    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ae-91-91.csw4.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.90]
11    33 ms    31 ms    30 ms  ae-92-92.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.105]
12    31 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-48-48.ebr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.143.145]
13    33 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-81-81.csw3.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.69.140.10]
14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
15    30 ms    75 ms    32 ms  p0-0-0.dblnir2-cr2.bbnplanet.net [195.16.160.78]
16    30 ms    30 ms    33 ms  resolver1.opendns.com [208.67.222.222]
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 393
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Routing to Opendns

Weird.
I'm asking internally.  Not deliberate.  (i.e we aren't trying to make you use our DNS servers or anything Cheesy )
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Routing to Opendns

I have to confess that I don't know how routing works for IP addresses that are re-routed geographically, but I don't think the nslookup proves that it's Plusnet's fault.
I use Google DNS on my laptop at home and the routing is the same (ie Frankfurt) so if the -txt lookup is sending things astray then the same issue has been propagated to Google...
If it's BGP and Anycast etc then it's not necessarily Plusnet's router that's got the wrong config?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

Quote from: pwatson

I use Google DNS on my laptop at home and the routing is the same (ie Frankfurt) so if the -txt lookup is sending things astray then the same issue has been propagated to Google...


"208.67.222.222" on the end of the command makes this lookup go to opendns regardless of the DNS resolver the PC is using.
If you omit the opendns ip address or use a google dns the result will be: "I am not an OpenDNS resolver."

@Kelly,
It's not that unusual, the issue does frequently crop up in their forum. Last year IIRC some people in Europe where being directed to US servers.
Not a problem for me, I don't use opendns but it will be a problem for those who do especially if accessing CDN content.
I have also reported the issue to Opendns.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Routing to Opendns

Quote from: npr
"208.67.222.222" on the end of the command makes this lookup go to opendns regardless of the DNS resolver the PC is using.
If you omit the opendns ip address or use a google dns the result will be: "I am not an OpenDNS resolver."

Me being dense - Sorry!
I was mis-interpreting the point you were making about the 1.Fra entry.  This just proves that the DNS server on 208.67.222.222 is in Frankfurt as per the traceroute?
So back to:
Quote from: npr
Looks like a plusnet problem then

What's the proof for this?  Genuine question, not an accusation!
If the route to 208.67.222.222 has been advertised via BGP then all the intermediate routers must have the same information?  That being the case then the problem lies with OpenDNS?
Quote from: npr
I don't use opendns but it will be a problem for those who do especially if accessing CDN content.

Puzzled by this as well - Just because OpenDNS is pointing at the wrong server doesn't mean that geographic routing for all CDN types are also broken?  Or is the issue that the name request for CDN content would resolve to a different IP address depending on which DNS server answered the query?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

@pwatson
It proves the opendns resolver you're routed to is in Frankfurt.
Which is confirmed by the tracert.
I said it's a plusnet problem because two others have posted a tracerts from other ISP's which go to the London opendns server.
If you want to be pedantic it's probably a level3 issue, but I'm sure plusnet are best placed to pursue them.
AFAIK anycast routing to CDN servers are based on the location of the DNS resolver used for the name lookup. If this is the case and the resolver used is in Frankfurt then you will be routed to the closes CDN server to Frankfurt.
I had not assumed that geographic routing for all CDN types are also broken.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Routing to Opendns

Opendns have so far shown more interest than Plusnet in this issue.  Undecided
They've asked my to do three tests using their own diagnostic software, one using opendns, one using google dns and one using the ISP dns.
This is their conclusion:
Quote
Hi,
Thank you for all three reports.
As you can see the routes are similar using all three services.
snip -- (3 tracerts)
The routes are consistent:
1. Plus.net
2. Level 3 (London)
3. Level 3 (Paris)
4. Level 3 (Frankfurt)
The routing is decided by your ISP and we try to connect to the server closest to you, but if your ISP is routering through Frankfurt our system will see that and route you to the servers we have near that location.