cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router with WPA2 Enterprise

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Looking for a router with WPA2 enterprise and cheapest as possible looking to spend £50 tops.
Any suggestions greatly appreciated.
Jamie
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
7 REPLIES
Dmitchell
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 11-04-2011

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Hey.
Netgear RangeMax WNR1000 Has WPA2 Enterprise. Very reliable, costs around £45.
Having said that, our router supports WPA2 (Technicolor TG582n) However I don't actually know the difference between this and WPA2 Enterprise?
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,702
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Quote
WPA2 Personal is the main WiFi security method and this is what most home and small business users use. It uses a single password. Most WiFi networks use this method.
WPA2 Enterprise is also called 802.1x and is the enterprise method. This method shouldn't be used by home users as it requires a RADIUS authentication server and needs a username and password. It supports multiple accounts for each user.

copied and pasted from a reply someone wrote on another forum Smiley
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise


This may help the confusion.

WPA2 Personal is the main WiFi security method and this is what most home and small business users use. It uses a single password. Most WiFi networks use this method.WPA2 Enterprise is also called 802.1x and is the enterprise method. This method shouldn't be used by home users as it requires a RADIUS authentication server and needs a username and password. It supports multiple accounts for each user.

http://freeradius.org/
http://www.ciscopress.com/articles/article.asp?p=1576225&seqNum=3
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Reason is because we have client files on our system and so it needs to be only accessed by authorised people.
Is WPA2 Enterprise able to use without a server? So I set up user names and passwords on the router GUI? I currently have a Netgear WNR1000 supplied by PN.
I will then have two wifi systems running one for authorised users and other for other users
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Possible guide here...
http://www.privacywonk.net/2010/10/security-how-to-wpa2-enterprise-on-your-home-network.php
Sounds like you'd be better off securing the files on the server instead though...
wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: 01-02-2013

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Quote from: NorthEasterner
Is WPA2 Enterprise able to use without a server? So I set up user names and passwords on the router GUI? I currently have a Netgear WNR1000 supplied by PN.

No, it cannot be used without a server.
I think WPA2 Personal would suffice for what you're trying to do. WPA2 Enterprise is really designed for an enterprise-level environment where you have users logging in with their network credentials.
wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: 01-02-2013

Re: Router with WPA2 Enterprise

Quote from: pwatson
Sounds like you'd be better off securing the files on the server instead though...

+1