cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router with 3G support for FTTC

mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Router with 3G support for FTTC

Hi guys,
I'm due to have FTTC installed in my new property in the next few weeks, but I'm looking for a router I can use that has support for a secondary 3G connection, mostly to keep me online while I wait for the FTTC to go live.
IPv6 and VPN support would be a bonus, and I'm quite happy to look for alternative firmware to achieve this. Dual band WiFi would be preferable, too.
I don't require media server/storage options.
Any suggestions?
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

3G as in via the mobile phone network?
Geoff,
York.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,314
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

Billion BiPAC 7402NX ticks the boxes (except the dual-band one).
http://www.billion.com/product/3g/bipac7402nx-wireless-11n-3G-ADSL2-vpn-firewall-router.html
Not cheap but I have one that's no longer is use (not updated yet to the IPv6 firmware though) - open to offers.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

Does the fibre TG582n have a USB port?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

At the moment the fibre ones do, yes.
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

In that case your router from Plusnet already has this capability Smiley
Ask if you can have yours sent out early - I did this but then it didn't have a USB port, d'oh!
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

Matt, can you confirm whether they support 3G modems and if so, which models?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

Hi there,
They do support some of them, yes, but I'm afraid we don't know which ones and don't have any we can test. Just a case of trial and error I'm afraid.
Bright
Grafter
Posts: 363
Registered: 02-02-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

I'm beginning to sound like a cracked record, but the Asus RT-N66U ticks all your boxes. I haven't tried the 3G support myself but the Merlin firmware has support for 3, O2, Vodafone and Orange.
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

The RT-N66U does indeed look like the strongest contender.
But I'm slightly reluctant to spend so much on a router that I don't require half of the features.
Bright
Grafter
Posts: 363
Registered: 02-02-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

N56U is a bit cheaper and also has the USB ports (and ticks the other boxes, I think). Not sure if they work with 3G or not - it's different firmware, and this model doesn't run the Merlin firmware as far as I know.
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

I think I'm just going to have to suck it up and fork out for a N66U.
My local PC World has them for £109, which seems like a decent price.
Bright
Grafter
Posts: 363
Registered: 02-02-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

To be fair, your requirements are for things that are generally found on fairly high end routers. The Asus is really not that expensive for such a well specified router (eg more powerful hardware than the Drayteks at twice the price). And with such an active firmware development programme it should meet your needs for quite a while. £109 at PC World is a pretty good price.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

The Plusnet's TG572n config file shows the router to be pre-configured for the following 3G dongles.
Zoom_4595  modemvid=1C9E modempid=9603
H_E220  modemvid=12D1 modempid=1003
H_E1725Cu  modemvid=12D1 modempid=1417
H_E180  modemvid=12D1 modempid=1003
Alcatel  modemvid=1BBB modempid=0000
Telsey  modemvid=1C9E modempid=9603
ZTE_MF110  modemvid=19D2 modempid=0016
H_E1762  modemvid=12D1 modempid=140C
H_E1752Cu  modemvid=12D1 modempid=140C
H_E1752Cu_OV  modemvid=12D1 modempid=1417
If you can identify your own dongle as one of the above I would have thought the PN router would be worth a try.
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: Router with 3G support for FTTC

That's really handy to know - thanks for looking npr!
I'm going to head down PC World a little bit later and pickup an N66U and a 3G Dongle, I think.