cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router settings

TheWalrus
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-05-2009

Router settings

Hi to everyone in the community,
Just had my Plusnet Broadband activated today Grin, was wondering if someone could please help me with router settings.  I got the Thompson wireless router offered when I joined, i'm just wondering where do I turn on Mac Address filtering and set it so that it asks for a password when trying to access the router settings?  I've had a look through the menus but can't find either.  Hope someone can help!
Kind regards
6 REPLIES
TheWalrus
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-05-2009

default router password help

Hi all,
I've got the Thomson Gateway router that you get with the value package and i'm trying to access some advanced settings but it keeps asking for a username and password.  Does anyone know/or where i can find out the default user and password (I can't find anything on the router instructions)?
Cheers Smiley
thewalrus
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: default router password help

username: admin
password: admin
alternatively
User Name = Administrator
Password = blank (don't type  it)
TheWalrus
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-05-2009

Re: default router password help

Cheers oldjim  Smiley. I'll give them a bash
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: default router password help

i dont know how PN thompsons work but when i played with an o2 speedtouch there firmware had a standard admin user and a super user login
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router settings

It appears this thread posted later deals with this - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,76070.0.html
Some advice from a mod perhaps.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Router settings

jim:post Threads merged mod:end