cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router replacement

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Router replacement

Hi , A question a in law of mine ,also a PN customer on ADSL2 with a Thompson 585 Has problems loading web pages , he rang PN and i suggested his router is broken , he asked for a replacement.
The agent on the phone said he would have to pay the £4.99 P&P ? surely if his router is dead a free replacement should be sent  Huh
I have tried one of my Old 585,s on his PC and it works 100% but with my login details so it is his router at fault
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Router replacement

I think Plusnet only provide free replacements for routers less than one year old.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Router replacement

Ejs , does that include broken routers ? , Embarrassed
If so PN should say that if your router lasts more than 12 month,s we will not replace faulty ones  Sad
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Router replacement

Here is the first official statement I found about it: http://www.plus.net/support/customer_service/orders/hardware_delivery.shtml
Quote
6. There's a problem with my router, who do I return it to?
If we sent you the hardware within the last 12 months we'll replace it free of charge. Contact our Support Team and we'll send you a postage paid bag to return it.

The free replacement within 12 months is only for broken routers, but if you've had the router longer than a year, it's only the P&P and probably a deferred cost added to your account in case you leave within 12 months.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Router replacement

so basically the replacement is free , just the P&P if older than 12 months .
Cheers ejs  Wink
PS can PN unlock my old router for him to use ?  if connected
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Router replacement

if your old router is a PlusNet one and he's on PlusNet there's no need to unlock it, just choose manual config and put in the customer details ....

if its from a different isp and doesn't allow for changes then you would need to lookup how to hack the thing
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Router replacement

Disabling should be OK, but it's probably best if you get someone from Plusnet to make sure the router is dissociated from your account.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Router replacement

Hi rongtw,
It'd probably be worth moving the TR69 details from your account to his, if you could drop me a PM with the router serial number on it I'll make sure that happens - unfortunately there's two 585 components on your account so we don't know which one it is you've given him Smiley
If you can't remember (or get hold of) the serial from the one he has then just let us know the serial for the one you've got left, that should be fine.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Router replacement

Hi matt , i spoke to PN on the phone yesterday  Wink   apparently it was his  account that was the problem  Sad for some reason restrictions had not been removed after he paid his bill  ooops   so all is fine now on his own router.
also i have no need of either of the 585,s  so you can remove them both  Cheesy
i do have a thompson fiber router TG582 but will keep it in case my netgear  decides to give up  Tongue
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .