cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router interface pops in during browsing

materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Router interface pops in during browsing

Strange this. I was browsing and the Technicolor router interface poped up rather than the link I was clicking to. Even happened while I was doing an online survey on my GPs website. I closed down Firefox, waiting to ensure it closed properly, opened it again, and all four of the tabs I have open at launch were all the router interface and not the usual URLs, and with the username and password fields empty (not filled in as when I use the bookmark I have for opening it when I want it). Some to think of it I think it shows a different address (not http://192..168.1.254). I could not get shot of it, except by entering the intended URLs in the address bar for each tab, then saving that in the Firefox Options menu.
It even happened today whilst using the wifi connection on the mobile phone. Again could get shot of it. Opening Google opened Technicolor logon. Had to reboot phone.
I had the same make of router with o2 and didn't ever get this, and here on Plusnet it is recent (I have only been with Plusnet since 8 July) and this is the recent, say, week. First time for mobile though today.
Any ideas?
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,982
Thanks: 141
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Router interface pops in during browsing

Hi materialman,
That can happen with our version of the TG582n if the connection drops.
Looking at the logs for your connection it looks like there might have been some disconnections prior to the last day or so with things looking a lot more stable since.
When did you last notice this happen?
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13782193991912.png"/>
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Re: Router interface pops in during browsing

That event at 11.20 or so today would be about right for when I was using the mobile. Is that a disconnect and a reconnect (i.e. a drop?). Looks like from the router events there was a drop then. The one prior to that was late one night, so possibly one of them late on Sunday.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,982
Thanks: 141
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Router interface pops in during browsing

Hi there,
Yes when I look at the data used to generate that graph it does show as a connection drop.
Assuming you've not noticed any drops apart from that in the last 24 hours I'd just monitor this for another day or so. Drop us a reply on Thursday or Friday so one of us can generate an updated graph for you.
Otherwise if that starts to become more of an issue in the meantime then I'd advise raising a fault: http://faults.plus.net
Adam.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 101
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Re: Router interface pops in during browsing

OK will do. But in the meantime, something I've been meaning to ask ever since being with Plusnet (8 Aug) is regarding stats. I posted these on TBB forums on 10 Aug:
Uptime: 1 day, 8:05:38
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 6,378
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 95.25 / 859.24
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.3 / 48.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.2 / 6.1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 23,370 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 7,766,260
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 49 / 420
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 22 / 5,321

Note huge FEC error and G.992.3
Then compare this to last time I posted stats from same type of router on o2 BB (7 Nov 2012)
Uptime: 0 days, 7:08:59
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.187 / 5.088
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 529,78 / 3,09
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 19,1
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,6 / 51,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,4 / 9,5
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / BDCM
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 48 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 31 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.123 / 52
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 16.712
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 907 / 76
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 373 / 1.689
Note G.992.5 and low FEC
Now on Plusnet router a few moments ago
Uptime: 0 days, 6:03:36
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.007 / 5.866
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 103,41 / 807,70
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,8 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29,4 / 48,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,9 / 6,4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 26 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 32.509 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1.946 / 361.462
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 366 / 17
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 280 / 161
Still G.992.3 which I understand means ADSL2 and not ADSL2+ (G.992.5)
I do sometimes here dialling noises on the phone and occasionally what sounds like speech, though very low and not enough to make it out though.
Any ideas?
Edit: Just looked again at stats. Big jump in FEC errors
Uptime: 0 days, 6:52:43
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.007 / 5.866
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 106,81 / 826,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,8 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29,4 / 48,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,5 / 4,4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 26 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 32.811 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 2.278 / 3.056.727
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 441 / 1.729
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 338 / 3.594
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Router interface pops in during browsing

The G.992.3 vs G.992.5: it doesn't matter. The BT exchange equipment can only be set for ADSL2+ or ADSL1, since it's reporting ADSL2 then it must be set for ADSL2+ but decided to use ADSL2 based on your line.
The rest of the stats just show that on o2, you had a higher noise margin, with a corresponding lower speed and fewer errors. On Plusnet you currently have a lower noise margin, which has resulted in a higher speed but more errors - FEC are corrected errors, it shows the interleaving is correcting the vast majority of the errors.
You can turn off the "web browsing interception" somewhere in the router gui, if it's popping up when it shouldn't.