Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router fails when copying files

PoBear
Hooked

Router fails when copying files

I'm new to PlusNet.
Broadband is fine but I am having problems with my wired network.
I have my main computer plugged an Ethernet port on the PlusNet Technicolor TG582n this is then wired to a switch with another computer (HTPC) and a NAS.
The LAN operates without problem, I can see all of the other boxes and their shares and they can see my main computer, internet access works without problem as does light LAN traffic. However, as soon as I try and copy a file from one machine to another the TG582n locks up. I lose all n/w connectivity, I can't even get into the TG582n web interface, the only way out is to turn the router off and on again.
This is my second TG582n having had the first replaced for this very same problem, my original thought was that it was overheating and this may still be the same problem but I have spent the evening searching the internet and can't see anybody with a similar problem, so I am wondering If it is a problem at my end,
My old Sky modem used to the same thing occasionally and it was definitely overheating, but most of the time worked without problem.
Nothing else has changed in setup apart from the TG582n
Any ideas as it is a real pain moving files across on usb stick.
8 REPLIES 8
frank39
Grafter

Re: Router fails when copying files

I have a similar arrangement to you and I can copy files freely between devices on the LAN.  I use a TG582n with FW 10.2.1.8 and a gigabit switch.  All devices are connected to the switch, so file transfers do not pass through the router. I can recall previous configurations where I used the router wifi (I now use a centrally positioned access point) and I had no file transfer problems.