cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router facilities

cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Router facilities

Just signed up.

What router is being supplied atm? Does it support NAT loopback?

TIA


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
9 REPLIES 9
Shep41
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 469
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎31-05-2017

Re: Router facilities

At the moment, they are sending out the awful hub one. Which is a rebadge BT homehub 5 but white. As for NAT loopback I have no idea but I'm sure someone will come along and answer that for you .
Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,500
Thanks: 921
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Router facilities

Ok I actually cheated and did a quick Google (as we all do), but from this thread of the BT forums it appears it is possible.

Never tried it, so I can't help any further really.

cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Router facilities

Cheers for that.

 

Maybe something they could add to the info page. Or maybe not? Just another thing to go wrong? Wink


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Router facilities

Thanks.

Knowing the router helps. I am assuming there is no HH5; just a HH5a? Wink

 


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,839
Thanks: 5,273
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router facilities

@cbcadmin 

For ADSL Plusnet supply a Sagecom 2704N. Fibre customers get a Hub One, which has BT Home Hub 5A  hardware (note that there is also a HH 5B but that is not used) but tweeked Plusnet firmware which might influence whether it will do what you want.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Router facilities

Thanks for that.

Found
https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2015/01/isp-plusnet-launch-faster-hub-zero-2704n-broadband-rou... yet to establish if it does NAT loopback. Sad


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Router facilities

Going on https://community.plus.net/t5/ADSL-Broadband/Technicolour-versus-Sagem-2704n/td-p/1311503 looks like I'd be better off sticking with my 582N. Unless anyone can explain/solve the issues?


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,839
Thanks: 5,273
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router facilities

@cbcadmin 

If you read this it might confirm this view, especially this sentence 

These are some of the worst speeds we’ve seen from any router.

https://www.expertreviews.co.uk/plusnet/1403635/plusnet-hub-zero-2704n-review

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

cbcadmin
Grafter
Posts: 329
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2012

Re: Router facilities

Thanks.

 

I don't know why they bother sending out these routers if they are as bad as the reviews say. Perhaps most won't have any experience of alternatives or they just like clogging up their complaints channels with customers with slow connections?


Keef- Sheerness Kent UK - Vodafone FTTP via THG3000 & Three via ZTE MF286D

Previously - NowTV, John Lewis, Shell Energy, Plusnet, Sky, EE, New Call Telecom/Fuelbroadband, Virgin/NTL/Bell Cable, Crosswinds, IC24, FreeOnlineNet, X-Stream, Totalise, Freeserve, Force9, TescoNet, AOL, Freenetname, Pipex, E7