cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Stats

sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Router Stats

Hello
I've had a problem recently with disconnections an openreach engineer has been and install a master socket  which apparently I didn't have. After he did all the tests he said everything was working fine and indeed I have only suffered 1 disconnect  since he left but when I looked at the router stats I think the SNR is low should I be worried
Thanks
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 6:24:07
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 18.064
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 998,05 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12,1 / 24,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26,7 / 6,7
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 132 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 26 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 7.663 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 139 / 59.520
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 12
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 226
Pick a task...
Restart my Technicolor Gateway
33 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Router Stats

Downstream SNR at 6.7dB is fine - target is 6dB. You should ask to get your upstream uncapped.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,208
Thanks: 3,525
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

A low SNRM is good if your line is stable.  If your line is subject to noise, then a higher target SNRM might be required to keep the line (connection) stable.
A lower SNRM usually delivers a higher synch rate with an increased risk of instability; a higher SNRM delivers a slower synch rate with better stability.  Kitz suggests that your synch rate is slightly slow for your line attenuation figure, however the SNRM is also a little higher than the 'reference' point.
I would not be concerned with these stats.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

@sparkalfa
The main stats look absolutely fine, sync speed is fine for the attenuation and current noise margin which is also OK.
Some of the other stats do still contain error figures etc from your previous disconnects, and what would be beneficial would be to reset all these by doing a "graceful" Disconnect & power off, using the following method -
Log in to the Modem/Router, in the Internet box, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session (this is not the sync), wait about a minute and then power down the Modem/Router. (After about another minute if you wish to swap anything about - leads, filters, modem/routers etc you can unplug it from the line and do whatever is needed).
Stay offline for at least 10 minutes. When you (re-connect and) power up, Login to the Modem/Router and click Connect to establish a new PPP session.
Don't do this more than 5 times in an hour, then leave it for the rest of the day. This method is to help stop the Exchange DLM from thinking your sync loss was a dropped connection.
(If you have a modem/router that doesn't have an interface for you to drop the PPP session, then pull the power plug and wait a minute or two before unplugging from the line).
Ideally do this in daylight hours, between mid-morning and mid-afternoon.
PS. You can do a Disconnect & Connect (without a power down) to Gateway hop.
Edit: Welcome to the forums by the way. I've just read your post back in May, and would strongly suggest you reset the stats as suggested asap and keep any eye on them and post if you have any further issues. I have a suspicion that you might still have a bad connection somewhere on your line. Did the engineer check the connections in the small junction box just inside the property?
Can you hear/have you heard any crackling or other noises on the line when using the phone? Have you had any problems with incoming or outgoing calls?
2nd edit:spelling typo.
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Recently had a bout of disconnections and when it came back up I get these stats
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:54
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 18.258
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 84,00 / 162,88
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12,1 / 24,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 30,9 / 5,4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Pick a task...
Restart my Technicolor Gateway
I am getting more convinced that it has something to do with the weather as I am sure I get more errors when it's raining
The odd thing to me is all the disconnections don't seem to be affecting speed I thought they would
The engineer did checks from the new master socket he installed and the extension the router is plugged into which is only 4 feet away in the room above the extension is plugged into the master socket and there is only 1 other extension in the living room with a phone and sky box in it all outlets have filters and all filters have been replaced
The line is quiet and incoming and outgoing calls seem fine
Thanks
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

Hi there,
First question, was the modem/router powered down before you got those stats? Your comment suggests not.
If you get too many disconnections in a short space of time, the DLM will either band the speed or raise the Target SNRM or both, with the resultant slower speed.
Next question, can you clarify how your extensions are connected? The way it's worded suggests it's a plug-in extension for the modem/router and how is the extension in the living room connected?
If either or both extensions are plug-in, are their cables round or flat?
Was the sky box in use at the time your last disconnection occurred? I take it the Sky box is filtered from your description?
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Thanks for the reply
No the modem was not powered down
I've been getting 3 maybe 4 disconnections in 10 minutes then it could be fine for from 1 hour to 2 or 3 days speed has never been affected
It is a plugin extension as before the recent  engineer visit I did not have a master socket only an old 1950's style junction box to a normal looking phone socket so not knowing the demarcation point I erred on the side of caution and used a plugin extension which I terminated in a wall socket the living room extension is paralleled off the back of that wall socket.
All cables are round
Sky box was not in use and is filtered
Thanks for your help I hope my explanations make sense
Mark
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Just checked my router event logs and noticed some anomalies I have not turned the router off at all but it seems to have rebooted itself is hat a sign its starting to fail


Event Logging
This page summarizes the last events that have been recorded on your Technicolor Gateway. Choose a display filter...

Category:
Recorded Events

Time Message

Jun 22 23:24:59 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.102)
Jun 22 22:55:29 SNTP Synchronised to server: 65.55.56.206
Jun 22 21:55:29 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 64.4.10.33
Jun 22 20:55:29 SNTP Synchronised to server: 64.4.10.33
Jun 22 19:55:29 SNTP Synchronised to server: 65.55.56.206
Jun 22 19:15:56 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.102)
Jun 22 18:55:28 SNTP Synchronised to server: 64.4.10.33
Jun 22 17:55:28 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 65.55.56.206
Jun 22 17:20:04 CONFIGURATION mbus igd sync successfull
Jun 22 17:20:02 CONFIGURATION mbus atomic sync successful
Jun 22 17:17:22 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.102)
Jun 22 17:05:40 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.102)
Jun 22 15:55:28 SNTP Synchronised to server: 65.55.56.206
Jun 22 15:55:28 SNTP Systemtime update: time setting 00:07:20 > new time setting: 15:55:28
Jan 1 00:02:20 SNTP Unable to contact server: 198.18.1.3
Jan 1 00:02:18 CONFIGURATION saved by TR69
Jan 1 00:01:53 FIREWALL event (1 of 6): deleted rules
Jan 1 00:01:53 PPP link up (Internet) [80.229.241.99]
Jan 1 00:01:52 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok
Jan 1 00:01:52 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PTW-AG01)
Jan 1 00:01:52 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red1.dy)
Jan 1 00:01:43 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 18258 kbit/s, upstream: 440 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.9 dBm, Up: 12.1 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 24.0 dB, Up: 12.1 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.1 dB, Up: 31.5 dB)
Jan 1 00:01:35 SNTP Unable to contact server: 198.18.1.1
Jan 1 00:01:17 xDSL linestate down
Jan 1 00:01:12 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.102)
Jan 1 00:01:02 [ANTI_SPOOFD] (err) llist_getobject_at for ENV.ANTI_SPOOFD's value failed
Jan 1 00:00:47 xDSL linestate down
Jan 1 00:00:33 DHCS server up
Jan 1 00:00:33 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules
Jan 1 00:00:33 FIREWALL level changed to Standard.
Jan 1 00:00:31 UPnP framework enabled
Jan 1 00:00:31 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): modified rules
Jan 1 00:00:31 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): created rules
Jan 1 00:00:30 UPnP framework disabled
Jan 1 00:00:28 UPnP framework disabled
Jan 1 00:00:26 UPnP framework disabled
Jan 1 00:00:14 KERNEL Warm restart
Jun 22 16:47:55 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok
Jun 22 16:47:53 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = pcl-ag06)
Jun 22 16:47:51 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red1.dy)
Jun 22 16:47:50 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 18269 kbit/s, upstream: 440 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.9 dBm, Up: 12.4 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 23.5 dB, Up: 12.1 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.1 dB, Up: 31.7 dB)
Jun 22 16:47:24 xDSL linestate down
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

Ah, I guess you've spotted the suspicion that I had, which was that the modem/router had rebooted for some reason (all error figures etc were 0) but as it was Kernel Warm Restart this suggests it wasn't a power dip/interruption.
Is the modem/router a TG585 and how old is it?
The other problem with plug in extensions is that the cable may not be twisted pair and the bell-wire is probably connected, this makes it vulnerable to interference being picked up - unless it was made up with CW1308 cable and only terminals 2 & 5 were connected at the plug end. You can get some idea of the cable standard by looking at the wire colours and the terminal numbers they are connected to at the socket end. How long is the cable from the plug to the first socket?
The other thing I spotted was the extra 2dB attenuation, which had you had a much longer line to the exchange would be of considerable significance, and it was this that made me initially wonder about a bad connection. This could still be a possibility as there's a couple of xDSL linestate down events, but the previous reboot does throw some suspicion on the modem/router.
As you've already changed the filters, I'd be inclined to make sure you haven't got any bad connections internally by doing the following -
use the Disconnect method as mentioned previously -
Log in to the Modem/Router, in the Internet box, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session (this is not the sync), wait about a minute and then power down the Modem/Router. After about another minute you can unplug it from the line.
Stay offline for at least 10 minutes whilst doing checks etc. (see below).
Whilst you are off-line check your connections at the rear of the extension sockets and with the modem/router powered down plug it's leads in and out a few times (all ends) to try and make sure the contacts are cleaned of any oxidation, likewise with filters etc. Check with your phone when everything is plugged in that a slight wiggle of the plugs doesn't cause any crackling or other noises.
With the modem/router still unplugged from the line but powered on, check all power connections and leads and that movement etc doesn't cause a reboot.
If the cover on the 1950's style connector box is removeable, check that the connections here are secure and free from corrosion (again check using a phone that there is no crackles etc.
When all checks are complete, connect up and power up again and don't forget to Login to the Modem/Router and click Connect to establish a new PPP session. If the problems continue, then trying another modem/router would be a sensible option.
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Again thanks for the reply I am not near the router at the minute so I will try your test tomorrow
Just to clarify I think the router is a TG585 it was supplied by plusnet about 4 months ago an the extension is about 4ft long
I no longer have the 1950's junction box it was replaced by the openreach engineer for a new nte5.
Can I use cat6 cable to connect a new line from the master socket to another socket just for the router would this improve anything?
Thanks
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

Cat6 is a huge bulky overkill. You might just as well replace your existing cable. CW1308 is the cable you want from here & 3.5mm cable clips & this disposable tool or this more robust one. The Post & Packing is only £1
If you want your Modem/Router and phones etc where you have them at present, then this would most likely be the easiest option.
Edit: If you had the modem/router that recently from Plusnet, it would be the TG582n and would be replaced free of charge if faulty.
Is it getting plenty of ventilation?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Router Stats

Hi there,
I thought  this may help......
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13720820715038.png"/>
Your connection has long periods of stability, have you observed your router rebooting? Is there any particular device that you have connected to the router when it disconnects.
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Thanks Chris
I have not noticed that th router reboots and the devices that are connected stay the same. However if I went back and checked what the weather was like when the connections dropped I bet it was raining  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Stats

The main thing to remember is that the sync dropping should not cause it to reboot, something else is causing that.
sparkalfa
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Router Stats

Not had any reboots at all recently
Also the connection has stayed solid for 3 days this afternoon it rained and I am now starting to see the connection dropping again!!!!
I am convinced the line from pole to house is compromised in wet weather as it is only 2 core shotgun style and about 40 years old
Also the latest router stats put my SN Margin at 0.9 is this correct