cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,291
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

I'd like to make use of the QoS facility in my Asus RT-N56U router. It wants me to enter my upload & download bandwidth settings. Would someone at PN please be kind enough to supply me wth them? Thanks, Nick
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,867
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

If your router does not know your upload and download bandwidth then you do not have an internet connection.
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

If it's a separate router using a PPPoE connection (such as with fibre), I don't think the router is aware of the line rate. That's how it is on my Draytek - internal modem, QoS set automatically; separate modem, QoS has to be set manually.
Assuming you're on fibre, I'd go to the BT Wholesale speed checker and get the IP profile off there.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,291
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

That's eactly my situation CX, thanks for the advice.
dick:quote
flaminmoses
Grafter
Posts: 270
Registered: 09-02-2012

Re: Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

the n56u isnt aware...i know because i had the same issue.
you need to know your upload speed and then enter that or higher in the box.
if you dont know what it should be just enter something silly like 25mbs and do a speed test.....it will give you your upload figure.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,291
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Router QoS...what are my bandwidth settings?

Thanks Flaminroses, I think I have it now. There are so many features in this router & I'm gradually getting to grips with them all.