cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Issues

FraggerUKN
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2013

Router Issues

This is a long post so bare with me
Just moved into a new house just over a week ago and the nice openreach engineer called Alex came round to fit my fttc today. Well as you can guess by the fact that im posting here things arent all well. 
Firstly I mentioned to him while he was setting it up that i knew id only be getting 45mb on my Unlimited Fibre package due my distance from the cabinet. He however was under the impression I was getting the 40/10 service from the information he'd seen.... Worrying. Ive double checked and according to the my account im on the Plusnet Unlimited Fibre service.
Now to the main problem.  My plusnet Router hasn't arrived so he couldnt make sure everything was working ok.  I rang Plusnet and asked them about it and they said it should be there within the next two days.  However being without proper internet for over a week and having it within reach left me feeling impatient.  I broke out my Linksys WRT610N which id previously used with my Virgin BB looked up that i needed to set it up for PPPoE and it should work.  I was planning on doing that anyway since I wanted the use of its gigabit ethernet ports for my home network.  However everytime i hit the connect button on the status screen it says can not get an ip address from the PPPoE server.
router setup
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/94/routersetup.png/
login attempt
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/835/routererror.png/
It did manage to connect once briefly. I fired up firefox hoping my prayers had been answered and I got redirected to 62.6.38.125/index.html to a page looking like this
http://community.bt.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/7351i24E64C80D10F8AAD/image-size/original?v=mpb...
Then the connection died and every time Ive tried since i get the usual error.
If anyone has any suggestions id welcome them otherwise I hope my Plusnet router arrives tomorrow and that it works
5 REPLIES
KevinA
Rising Star
Posts: 159
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎07-02-2013

Re: Router Issues

Just as an idea, I've heard it is possible to connect the modem direct to a pc and create a PPPoE connection from within windows to connect until your router arrives..
FraggerUKN
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2013

Re: Router Issues

hmmm simple but possibly effective ill try it out
Thanks
FraggerUKN
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2013

Re: Router Issues

No joy keeps coming back with error 691 the remote connection was denied because the username and password combination is not recognised.
Well according to this http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/broadband-connection-settings.shtml my username should be
<accountname>@plusdsl.net
and the password is my account password which is what ive been using
ah well
KevinA
Rising Star
Posts: 159
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎07-02-2013

Re: Router Issues

I expect that either your account isn't yet active from plusnets side, due to the fact you've no router yet, maybe the account is automatically turned on once your router connects to TR69 for the first time http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/tr69faq.shtml or once the router is despatched of which you've no control.
FraggerUKN
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-03-2013

Re: Router Issues

Well according to Plustnet support my line is active, though not according to my account page or the automated message before i got through to Plusnet support.
But if it is TR69 there isnt anything I can do until the router arrives. Well I just hope that it arrives in the next few days which they assured me it would when I rang.
Thanks for your help If and If i dont post again assume the router turned up and everything went well