cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Room for improvement?

Lee0101
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 09-07-2013

Room for improvement?

Hi,
Although my broadband connection already feels fast and stable i've got some queries :-

  • I think my downstream SN Margin has dropped to around 4 at its lowest; would having it reset to 3 by Plusnet likely to cause stability problems with my stats?

  • Would it be worthwhile having Fast Path enabled or could it cause stablity problems? 


I've listed the following stats for these queries :-
Uptime: 7 days, 9:55:02
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 12,119
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 555.02 / 12.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.4 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 15.3 / 30.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.6 / 5.3
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 42,250 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 28 / 69,229
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 16 / 118,334
============================================================
BTW Performance Test
---------------------------------
Download speedachieved during the test was - 10.26 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 10.69 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.31Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps
===========================================================
Plusnet IP profile
-------------------------
Estimated line speed:
    14Mb (This may vary between 12.5Mb and 16.5Mb) - Checked on 2013-05-30 18:20:41
Current line speed:
    10.6 Mb
============================================================
Web Site test
--------------------
Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.246.92]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    18 ms    19 ms    19 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.182
]
  3    16 ms    17 ms    17 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.16
0]
  4    16 ms    16 ms    24 ms  192.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.192]
  5    17 ms    18 ms    17 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
  7    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  8    18 ms    18 ms    18 ms  ae0.er01.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.93]
  9    22 ms    18 ms    19 ms  132.185.255.164
10    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  bbc-vip013.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [212.58.246.92]
Trace complete.
Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.66] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.244.66: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.244.66: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.244.66: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.244.66: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
Ping statistics for 212.58.244.66:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 15ms
Thanks,
Lee
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Room for improvement?

why don't you ask for the upload to be uncapped
Lee0101
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 09-07-2013

Re: Room for improvement?

Ah yes something else on the to-do list. Smiley
Lee
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,970
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Room for improvement?

It looks like you are already on fast path, 69,229 CRC errors and 0 FEC suggests no interleaving.
Lee0101
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 09-07-2013

Re: Room for improvement?

I always thought interleaving was switched on by default with any new connection. During my initial 10 day connection training period, when i first joined Plusnet, would Fast Path automatically be switched on if my line was stable enough?
Lee
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,970
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Room for improvement?

That's correct, the DLM can automatically switch interleaving on or off as necessary.
The other point in the first post in this thread - SNR resets are usually done for setting the target SNR margin back to 6 when it's ended up at 15 after a fault or lots of plugging and unplugging etc. It wouldn't normally be reset to 3.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 291
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Room for improvement?

You could try using a modem/router that has the ability to SET your desired "Target SNR", then tweak the value in small steps to find the optimum balance between speed and errors, for your connection.
One of the best modem/routers for tweaking "Target SNR" is the Billion BiPAC 7800DXL,
or if you are looking for cheapest then an old Netgear DG834GT flashed with DGTeam firmware works well.
Lee0101
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 09-07-2013

Re: Room for improvement?

Thanks for that information.
I've got a spare BT Voyager 2110 ADSL router which allows you to set the target SNR so i'll probably end up using it at some stage.
Lee
jim:quote