cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Repeated intermittent failures

pembrokestephen

Repeated intermittent failures

I have been experiencing a problem with my broadband service for quite a few months, where the connection drops, apparently spontaneously, and then does not return for several hours. Typically, it fails in the mid-evening, and is out for a couple of hours; sometimes, it does not return until the early hours of the following morning.

As a former IT professional, I know my way around the equipment and testing procedures to some degree, and these are some of the things I have done (in roughly the same sequence) to try and address the outage:

• Establish that the problem is not a local networking issue
  • Disconnect telephony equipment (the telephone line continues to work fine during these ADSL outages)
  • Manually restart the ADSL connection from the router admin page (the main router I use is a Draytek Vigor2760)
  • Reboot the router from software
  • Power-cycle the router
  • Swap out the router-to-wallport cable
  • Replace microfilters (in past); now I use filtered faceplaces, of which I hold a couple of spares
  • Substitute an alternative router

Despite the fact that I know that these actions are not likely to make a difference, I have nonetheless followed them precisely during the first three or four regular outages, invariably with the same result: none of them result in the broadband service returning. 

I adopted a new policy of leaving well alone and simply monitoring, and waiting for the service to return, which it does without any intervention, suggesting that it's not as a result of anything anyone is doing inside the building.

This is becoming increasingly frustrating, though. I often work in the evenings, and my access to the Internet is an essential part of that. I cannot imagine that this can be anything other than a failure at the line or exchange.