cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommended router

waldron
Grafter

Recommended router

I have been using a D-Link DSP-G604T router for the past three years. Recently I have been experiencing connection problems. On two occasions there has been no wireless signal at all, although all the stats etc seem to be indicate all is running successfully. When the problem exists , three different pcs all report the same problem, so I believe that the router is the culprit.
Can anyone recommend a reliable wireless router? Preferably at least 100 Mbps.
11 REPLIES 11
Assos
Grafter

Re: Recommended router

Anything in the Netgear DG834 series, but NOT the DG834PN (It's not very reliable) or the plain DG834 (it doesn't have wifi)  should be a good bet for a nice reliable wireless modem/router...
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

DG834N is newer seems popular and has good wireless speeds/options.
DG834GT (like mine) is older but dependable and goes to 108mbps with the right adapters.
Emma
Grafter

Must admit we have the PN version of the Netgear and never had any problems, it has all the firmware updates and such like. We also use a Voyager 2100 as a repeater just so we can get wireless in the garden and garage.
The voyager has a much better wireless range than the Netgear. We just ran some Cat5 cable through the ceiling from the back of the netgear and then through the loft and down in to the back bedroom creating a fab wireless house!
hth
Emma
Mad_Moggies
Rising Star

We've got the PN version too. Old one is the GT but the PN seems to have better coverage in our house, esp as the main BT socket is the other end to where we use our computers. (I hasten to add that we got the PN as it was a 'customer return' being sold for such a silly price that we would have been daft not to buy it.)
Plusnet user since November 2003
Full Fibre since September 2023
Mac OS14 and Firefox user with latest versions of both
MickKi
Grafter