Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommend a router

willas00
Grafter

Recommend a router

Hi,
Hopefully someone will be able to help me out here.
I own a WAG120N LinkSys router. It's always been great to me with my PC (Windows Vista), MacBook, and iPhone 3G.
I purchased an iPad 1 (before the iPad 2) and noticed the internet connection would just randomly die on the device while connected to the router.
I upgraded to an iPhone 4 just a few weeks ago and noticed the same issues on the iPhone 4.
I have the same problem some times but less often on my MacBook. All the devices are Wireless appart from the PC which never has issues.
I've now obtained Apple TV 2 and keep having issues with Home Sharing disconnecting on the TV. It's getting annoying trying to watch a film then all of a sudden it's lost connection.
I'm wondering if it's the setup of the router. However I'm not that technical minded when it comes to routers.
I've had a google around and not really came up with much that's helpful.
I'm wondering now however if it might be worth investing in a better router ideal for the stuff I'm using it for. Is the router Plusnet do any good? I never requested a router from Plusnet as I've always had my own.
But I seriously need something reliable.
When I've spoken to Plusnet before they have noticed the router sometimes randomly disconnects from the network and keeps connecting successfully a few times in a row so I've no idea what's going on there either.
Any help would be appreciated.
9 REPLIES 9
w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: Recommend a router

Pretty sure the standard PN supplied router has had reports of connection issues with some Apple devices so probably not the best bet.
I have no Apple devices nor much knowledge about them but I'm pretty sure that Apple sell some kind of router or wifi access point, I'd think that sticking with the brand should minimise chances of unforseen problems.