cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

I set up my router with the go-ahead from plusnet on Tuesday (4 days ago) and on day 1 the speeds were slow, but bearable (250kbp/s). For context, I'm used to 400-500kbp/s from my previous ISP but the connection was unreliable so I decided to switch to a cheap solution for the time being. Ever since Wednesday, the speeds have been terrible and hovering around 50-100kbp/s which is unacceptable for me as my job requires regular video calls which are not possible at these speeds and downloading of medium sized files, usually around 300MB but with this connection it takes like 2 hours.
I was informed that the speed of my broadband could be slow for the first few days, but it currently shows no signs of improving. I was promised an average speed of 3-6MB which would be 375-750kbp/s.
Does anyone know when (or if) these awful speeds will improve? I can't do my job like this.
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Can you have a look at the sticky at the top of here :
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/board,3.0.html
Pop on your router stats and we can have a look and see if anything stands out as being an issue.
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

0 days, 13:23:40
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 824 / 1,611
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 142.97 / 2.24
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.6 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 36.6 / 57.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.6 / 9.1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 43 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6,680 / 62
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4,521 / 53,132
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 6,696 / 235,329
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Postcode:
Phone exchange:
    DARLINGTON
Estimated line speed:
    3.0Mb (This may vary between 2Mb and 6Mb) - Checked on 2014-09-08 22:24:27
Current line speed:
    1.9 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Have you tried taking the faceplate off the master socket and connecting directly to the test socket behind (through a microfilter) ?
Also try the 17070, select quiet line test and see if there is any noise or crackles on the line. Preferably use a corded phone for this.
If you leave your modem in the test socket for a few days and the speed increases then you may have issues with your extension wiring.
Try the above and see if your router stats change with a direct to master test socket connection.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,411
Thanks: 1,903
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Hi Owls10,
Welcome to the forums.  There is a lot not right here and by the looks of things the issues you had with your previous supplier have moved with you. This is what happens when line issues are not resolved - users switch internet suppliers and are blighted by the same BTOR line issues.
Your line ought to be doing more like 3.4Mbps if I can trust your router stats (attenuation 57dB).
The BT Profile is in line with the synch speed, however the PlusNET profile is not.  It is now 13 hours since the router restart  (03:23) and the current BT delta report should have been passed onto and processed by PlusNET by now.  The PlusNET profile being too high could cause elevated error rates and thus reduce the effective data speed.
The SNRM is rather high at 9db. This could be the DLM attempting to keep the line stable or an indication of a moderate level of noise being present when the router was resynch'd.
Some things to check.
Is there noise on the line - dial 17070 option 2 - if there is noise report it to your phone provider.  Check it periodically.
Is the router in the master socket?  If not connect it there and reports the stats.
Does the master socket have a removable face plate?  If yes remove it and try the router in the exposed test socket - this will disconnect all extension sockets.
Try a new filter
Then raise a fault report here http://faults.plus.net
Dom types faster than. Do I  Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,534
Thanks: 776
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

There's a lot of errors being logged and the speed test result is a lot less than the profile. Do you know if you had interleaving on before (I can see it isn't on now)?
Without interleaving, when there is an error the block has to be retransmitted which means the effective rate is a lot less than the profile, with interleaving on many errors can be corrected on the fly without a retransmit which gives a lot better effective rate.
Why you are not syncing higher needs to be investigated, but having interleaving put on may give an immediate improvement.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

The Plusnet profile being too high will have no effect whatsoever on the CRC etc. errors reported by the router. If the Plusnet profile is too high, more data would be sent towards your line than it could handle, some of which would have to be discarded. When the discarded data doesn't arrive, your computer might have to ask for it again, which would reduce the effective speed reported by speedtesters.
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Line speed on profile is now accurate. Problem is, I've been running at literal dial-up speeds.
Uptime: 0 days, 0:19:00
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 907 / 288
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.66 / 16.08
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 36.6 / 59.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 16.3
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 18 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 26 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1
--------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------
Postcode:
Phone exchange:
   DARLINGTON
Estimated line speed:
   3.0Mb (This may vary between 2Mb and 6Mb) - Checked on 2014-09-08 22:24:27
Current line speed:
   0.2 Mb
I plugged it into the test socket about 24 hours ago. Was experiencing improved speeds (around 1.7MB) until this morning and it has been the very slow speed since, hovering between 0.1-0.2MB. Also, the internet has been very intermittent (with the internet light on the router turning off) and going off every hour or so.
I unplugged it from the test socket a few hours ago, but with no improvement in speed.
I just did the quiet line test and heard quiet crackling. I experienced this for the last few weeks I was with my previous ISP but the crackling was a lot louder most of the time. I assume this means there is an issue with the line leading to the house? Most likely happened a few months ago when my problems with old ISP started.
What would be the process of getting this fixed?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,411
Thanks: 1,903
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Your raw synch speed has fallen massively.
First action is to raise a noisy line fault with your phone provider. Make a very clear point if saying it is intermittent.  If the provider us nit PlusNET say nothing about the impact on broadband, less they try to pass the problem off onto PlusNET.  Broadband suppliers cannot get pure pots issues addressed by BTOR.
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Sorry, I'm a bit of a newb with these things. Would the phone provider be BT? The master socket has BTOR plastered on it.
I reported a fault to plusnet also, mentioned the crackly line and it submitted straight away. Although they will probably tell me the same thing you said Smiley
adie:quote
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,411
Thanks: 1,903
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Hi,
Do not worry about not knowing things - just ask.
Who do you pay your phone bill to?
All equipment will have a BT logo on it as BT Openreach provide all of the infrastructure and then sell their services to retail resellers (like BT Retail and PlusNET) who are responsible for end user billing and service support.
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

I have a phone and broadband package with Plusnet. So, plusnet.
adie:quote
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Ho owls,
I'm sorry to hear that you're seeing issues with the connection. After reviewing the details I can see that you've had some chronic disconnections along with DLM reigning the line back to the current speeds you're seeing.
Here is a quick graph to give you an idea of your recent connections:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14120051221730.png"/>
It looks as though you've been suffering with a whole host of disconnections which has no doubt led to the DLM reducing the speed of the connection in a hope to keep you connected however this doesn't appear to have done the trick given the continued drops.
Would it be possible for you to try testing the connection from the test socket located behind the face plate of the master socket with all other devices (telephones, Sky boxes, e.t.c.) unplugged from the phone sockets for an hour or two? This could well help us identify if there is something plugged into the phone system that's causing the issue.
A quick fault check has indicated nothing on the BT side causing the issue.
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

Quote from: Adam
Would it be possible for you to try testing the connection from the test socket located behind the face plate of the master socket with all other devices (telephones, Sky boxes, e.t.c.) unplugged from the phone sockets for an hour or two? This could well help us identify if there is something plugged into the phone system that's causing the issue.

Just plugged into the test socket and I've unplugged all land-line phones from the microfilters. Wait a few hours you say?
owls10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 27-09-2014

Re: Recently had plusnet installed, currently terrible speeds.

No change in speed after connecting to the test socket, the internet has been down for the most part actually. For the past 2-3 or so hours. I'll still leave it in until needed otherwise to see if it improves.
Plusnet support have responded telling me that they are investigating the problem with the phone line as it is likely causing the problems with the broadband. Now we wait I guess Smiley