cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Really poor speed

droom
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2011

Really poor speed

Feel aggrieved after moving from BE to Plusnet a few weeks ago. Assured that speed would be same if not better.
I've been completely mis sold.
Raised the matter as a fault but told by support that the line won't be upgraded until October 2011. They initially said within 5 days!
Can't understand why speed so good with BE?
Here's the data. Can anyone suggest a fix whilst I make up my mind what to do about the poor level of service I'm receiving. Thanks
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:11:26
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,132 / 10,624
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 8,128
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 1.87
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.5 / 23.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.0 / 15.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
21 REPLIES
tman247
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 13-05-2010

Re: Really poor speed

Well, I don't know what you were used to, but 8Mb seems pretty good to me. I spent more than 3 years at 3-4Mb, and wasn't really expecting any more. Just moved to FTTC though, so am being really spoilt with 30Mb+ speeds!
droom
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

If it looks good, and I don't know, why is use on the internet so poor. On occasions it's almost unusable and that definitely wasn't the case with my previous supplier.
Do I need to adjust settings? Tried to ring support but a 45 min wait!
Epyon
Grafter
Posts: 285
Registered: 31-03-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Because of the IP profiling system you loose a good bit of speed but why did you move from BE in the firstplace?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Really poor speed

Quote from: droom
Assured that speed would be same if not better.

I can think of no reason why.
And several why not:
1. DLM
2. IP Profiles
3. Lack of Be-style "tweaking" options
4. Traffic management (none on Be)
5. In your case, no ADSL2+ with PN
It looks like you could potentially have got around 18 to 19mbps with Be if your line & wiring were well-behaved and optimised.  Angry
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Really poor speed

We see very, very few people posting on here who have moved from Be to Plusnet. I wonder why...
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Really poor speed

Hi droom,
Thanks for your time on the phone today. As discussed, if you can run a BT speed test we will be able to analyse the results in a bit more detail.
Jojo Smiley
droom
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Thanks
What's the service ID?
SpencerUk
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 10-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Hi Droom
The Service ID is optional and you shouldn't need it Smiley
droom
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Done thanks
SpencerUk
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 10-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Hi Droom.
Had a quick check on your account and I've noticed that there is an active trouble ticket open from our suppliers (BT) relating to your local exchange. Although this was cleared a couple of hours ago, we can't discount it from relating to your slow throughput speed. I have enclosed a link for you to the active trouble ticket here.
If you could complete another speedtest for us tomorrow and if its the same low throughput, I would suggest raising a a fault to us so we can investigate further. From this point we can look then into a possible congested Virtual Path (VP) at your exchange which could be affecting your speeds, etc
In relation to comparing our throughput speeds to Be Broadband speeds, I believe they use Local Loop Unbundled (LLU) technology and as such, don't use BT's network to provide you a broadband speed, hence your speeds would be different to what you are currently getting. Once ADSL2+ Rolls out at your exchange which according to BT will be done by the latest of October, I would expect your speeds to be just as comparable if not possibly better although I can't guarantee this until your connection goes onto ADSL2+.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Really poor speed

Quote from: Spencer
Once ADSL2+ Rolls out at your exchange which according to BT will be done by the latest of October, I would expect your speeds to be just as comparable if not possibly better although I can't guarantee this until your connection goes onto ADSL2+.

Absolute rubbish!
Be don't use IP Profiles to artificially restrict speeds below the current sync speed. Be don't have a crazy DLM system that penalizes you for days after a few transient problems.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
SpencerUk
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 10-06-2011

Re: Really poor speed

Didn't say Be used IP profiles or any DLM systems. All I am saying is that at the moment Droom is not on ADSL2+ so you can't really compare one ISP to another Smiley.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Really poor speed

But what we do know is that speeds on Plusnet using ADSL 2+ will never be better than Be for the reasons I gave. The best Plusnet can hope for is to come close to the Be speeds.
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php gives a pretty good guestimate of the expected speeds - the throughput it gives for BT is always lower than on LLU.
droon - that says you were probably seeing about 16500 on Be - is that about right? If so the best you can hope for from Plusnet will be around 16000.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,129
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Really poor speed

With BT's updated 21CN DLM I don't see why the speeds on BT shouldn't also be 16500.
David