cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Routefinder
Grafter
Posts: 382
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Hi All
Forgive my poor recall........................................when the few(?) folk reporting loss of their static IP alerted PlusNet to the fact it was happening two nuggets of info caught my eye:-
1) That PlusNet had identified the issue and were going to be rolling out a fix, has that now happened?
2) That they were able to tell just which customers would likely be affected i.e. loss the static IP during the upgrade process.............Huh
So combining this aspect in (2) with the fix mentioned in (1) has the matter now been fully resolved so that no one is or will be loosing their static IP during the upgrade to UnlimitedHuh
TIA for the update of the "now" situation  Smiley
9 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

1) The fix for losing static IPs has indeed been rolled out (reference)
2) I don't think one could ever say losing a particular IP will *never* happen but the risk is very remote (see 2 replies down on that thread).
David
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

It's definitely been resolved, just let me know if you do see any more problems with that  though.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Routefinder
Grafter
Posts: 382
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Many thanks for the insight  Smiley
So really a no brainer now to request the upgrade from Extra to Unlimited................no usage restriction, lower cost especially as on a Market 2/3 exchange, a (slightly) better traffic settings  Grin
Sure I knew this but I surmise a request via the portal 'now' will mean the change happens on the next billing dat, yesHuh
For the record Routerstats says, time 18:33hrs on Jan 18th :-
DL
Noise Margin:    2.5  dB
Connection Rate:  3913  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 55.0  dB
Power:            0.0  dBm
Max Rate:        4720  Kbps

SuperFrames:      214830358
SF (CRC) Errors:  24978
Reed Solomon:    1293901748
RS Corrected:    1030138168
RS Un-Corrected:  339055
HEC:              21258
Errored Seconds:  14850
Severe ES:        43
Interleave Depth: 32
Bitswaps:        1097074
UL
Noise Margin:    6.3  dB
Connection Rate:  820  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 28.4  dB
Power:            12.9  dBm
Max Rate:        836  Kbps

SuperFrames:      204611063
SF (CRC) Errors:  0
Reed Solomon:    3071878
RS Corrected:    0
RS Un-Corrected:  0
HEC:              0
Errored Seconds:  0
Severe ES:        0
Interleave Depth: 4
Bitswaps:        47440
UPTIME ~ a really long 42 days plus...........not actually sure I recall such a long uptimeHuh
Total Uptimes (From SF counts):
WAN:  42 days, 06:29:54
LAN:  42 days, 06:29:54


CRC:  24978
LOS:  1
LOF:  0
ES :  14850
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Yes, the account change will take place on your next billing date. However don't leave it to the last minute to request it, by the time everything is in place it might be too late for that month.
Check closed service notices for confirmation the request has gone through.
David
Routefinder
Grafter
Posts: 382
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Hi spraxyt
Thanks for the insight Smiley
My bill date is the 11th of the month so will do it over the weekendHuh
Routefinder
Grafter
Posts: 382
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Just for the record BT speed tester says
1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
Download  Speed
3.21 Mbps
 
0 Mbps 4 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 3.21 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-4 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 3.45 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.7 Mbps
 
0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.7Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

The IP on BT has been like that since the start of the uptime but:-
PlusNet now says IP 3.4 and it had been 3.5 so there was so to speak some headroom to account for the 3.45 that BT was working "at"..................please can I have my 3.5 at PlusNet again  Wink  This was set at 3.5 on the 17th December following me reporting a persistent IP mismatch by the PlusNet automated systems Sad
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Requesting the upgrade now is no problem, no advantage to wait.
The BT IP Profile on 21CN is immediately set to 88.2% of sync speed. This should work its way through BT's back end systems and on to Plusnet within a few hours. Plusnet set Current line speed to the reported value rounded down to the nearest 0.1Mbps. So 3.4Mbps is correct for that IP Profile.
Presumably your previous sync speed was slightly higher?
David
Routefinder
Grafter
Posts: 382
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Ah! but why rounded down not upHuh
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: loss of Static IP when upgrading to Unlimited???

Presumably because rounding up could pass more packets to the bRAS then the line can handle so it arbitrarily drops packets. This reduces the QoS benefits from prioritisation.
David