cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

tazmaniandevil
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 3
Registered: 07-02-2014

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

sorry to be a bit off topic here, but 1.6Mbs seems very low for FTTC. My estimated speed from Plusnet was 76Mbs. I have had FTTC since 2010 and my speedtest.net speeds have been consistently in the 38Mbs range.
Am I looking at the wrong figures?
5 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,172
Thanks: 1,322
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Mod note.
Post split off to it's own topic.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

tazmaniandevil
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 3
Registered: 07-02-2014

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Yeah... thanks.....
My question above relates to someone posting their FTTC estimate is 1.6Mbs. I'm wondering whether I am looking at different results because my ADSL speed was better than that before I migrated to the FTTC platform.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,994
Thanks: 1,437
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

ADSL is affected by your distance from the exchange, FTTC is affected by your distance from the cabinet sometimes the two have no bearing on each other.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

rx7aiii
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 05-08-2010

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Hi dvorak
Thanks for the reply. Would you be able to expand on what you mean by the trial? I will try anything to get a faster more usable speed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Please run the Bt speedtest
This explains http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html