cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Hardly planned maintenance 12/10/2010

misza222

Dear Plus.net,
First and most important - If you have a status page use it!
Explain what is going on as you progress with the fault! Your announcement of "planned maintenance" was not 100% accurate and you knew it (when phoned CS recorded message clearly informed that customers experience disconnections; on status page however "it's very unlikely that this will be noticed by any of our customers"). Don't be scared to put facts it in writing.
The other thing is vocabulary used. How can maintenance that is announced 8h prior to the incident be planned maintenance? I am a software developer and if I plan maintenance I give my customers weeks, not hours notice. If anything you were taken by surpris by "The Provider" Smiley
Can you explain what was the problem in details? It would be much easier to get on with it if I new exactly what was the problem with this mysterious piece of kit your secret provider was replacing tonight.
Regards,
Michal
4 REPLIES 4
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Hi Michal,
Unfortunately it wasn't the maintenance we posted about that caused the disconnections, there was a period of unrelated maintenance on the Wholesale network overnight. We missed the briefing advising of this and therefore didn't post it to service status, many apologies for that. I'm going to get my head together with the team later and try and come up with a better way of handling the emails for planned wholesale outages so we can ensure they are posted to service status.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
misza222

Thanks for your answer.
May I suggest posting status updates on twitter as well as on the website? This way people may subscribe to it and have message delivered to their mobile if internet is down.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 315