cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quick question on new Fibre install

furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Quick question on new Fibre install

Just a question....not a moan. I just got fibre installed and although my upload speed is around 14mb faster, the download speed remains the same. Info from my account reads...
Phone exchange:
    FRASERBURGH
Estimated line speed:
    76Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2013-07-18 16:08:33
Current line speed:
    12.6 Mb
When does the current line speed eventually catch up?
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,438
Thanks: 1,015
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

This may just be the Plusnet system failing to catch up but you should run the BT speed test further diagnostics to check
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Will go do that now Jim
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Further diagnostic results:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 12.19 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 16 Mbps-77.44 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 77.44 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 6.26Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,438
Thanks: 1,015
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

I suggest phoning and asking for the Plusnet profile to be changed to match the IP profile
RickK
Grafter
Posts: 60
Registered: 03-07-2013

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Hi furrymunkey,
Let me know the outcome of yours, I got told that they can't do it..
Mine are not nearly as bad as your but I got;
Phone exchange:
GRAVESEND
Estimated line speed:
51Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2013-07-03 21:16:11
Current line speed:
38.6 Mb
When I posted on here saying about being on the wrong IP profile, they went on that I was Banded so that was the max speed I could get.
Hopefully you have more luck than me, but they won't touch mine apparently I am still under DLM.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

@RickK
Yours is completely different. The profile on our side it matching that from the DLM, it's the DLM that's banded you and therefore the speeds are lower.
For furrymonkey, it's a simple matter that our profile hasn't flipped to the fibre speed yet. I'm going to do that now.
@furrymonkey
Can you log in to the router and disconnect/reconnect. You should see the higher speeds.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Will keep you up to date Rick  Smiley
My info has been updated..
Phone exchange:
    FRASERBURGH
Estimated line speed:
    76Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2013-07-18 16:08:33
Current line speed:
    77.4 Mb
Still no change on speedtest so I will give it a wee while and phone them. Will post results if anything changes.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,438
Thanks: 1,015
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

have you done a disconnect/reconnect on the router
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

logged into router, disconnect/reconnect...

Still on the slow side but I'm assuming it will increase gradually?
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Thanks for the quick profile change Chris Smiley
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

Is that wireless or wired? If it's wireless can you try a wired test to see how that goes?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

My bad...was on wireless....wired test results were very erratic so run about 4 or 5 times to get an average....

RickK
Grafter
Posts: 60
Registered: 03-07-2013

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

@furrymunkey - Seems like you have a nice downstream now!
@Chris - I know I kind off hijacked the thread, but thank you for your response! So once the DLM period has passed can I complain? As Adam tried to explain the whole banding thing, but I still don't understand.
I have had no line issues since I am with you guys, and I don't particularly want to hack the OR Modem to see the stats as to when the DLM would be lifted?
furrymunkey
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 15-10-2010

Re: Quick question on new Fibre install

NOT impressed. BT Speedtester, further testing....
Download speedachieved during the test was - 34.57 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 16 Mbps-77.44 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 77.44 Mbps