cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question re ADSL2+

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Question re ADSL2+

I am presently on 21CN ADSL1
How easy is it to move me to ADSL2+ and then, if it all goes wonky, back to ADSL1
If it involves cost to Plusnet getting BT to make the change I won't bother
5 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Question re ADSL2+

HI Jim,
I understand that you are on the cusp, but it's not something we'd do for someone to try and then put them back.
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Question re ADSL2+

OK - my neighbour across the road - fed from the same pole is on Plusnet  ADSL2 with upload uncapped and he doesn't get better speeds than me so lets leave well alone  Grin
maximod
Grafter
Posts: 139
Registered: 15-08-2010

Re: Question re ADSL2+

Hi Oldjim,
As i am on a long line here and also on 20cn, i am interested in knowing what your line attanuation, and sync rate are ?
I would like to pre-empt if it worth considering or not adsl2 for myself.
Paul.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Question re ADSL2+

Wouldn't setting your router to ADSL1 mode be effectively the same as having it set back to ADSL1 at the exchange?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Question re ADSL2+

Quote from: maximod
Hi Oldjim,
As i am on a long line here and also on 20cn, i am interested in knowing what your line attanuation, and sync rate are ?
I would like to pre-empt if it worth considering or not adsl2 for myself.
Paul.
I am on 21CN - if you are on 20CN (and 21CN isn't available) you don't have the option
At present my stats are
Noise Margin:    5.7  dB
Connection Rate:  4832  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 50.0  dB
From memory my neighbour who is on ADSL2 has an attenuation of 51.5dB and about the same speeds but with a slightly lower noise margin