cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question #77930724 No response

sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Question #77930724 No response

Raised this first thing Saturday morning, but have still had no response. Is this sort of delay really good enough?
Very disappointed so far with PN's customer service  Sad
Downstream speed is gradually dropping  Undecided
44 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

I'm struggling to see a problem with the speeds you've given us there. You're getting 15Mb throughput on ADSL2+.
What is the actual problem you're seeing?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,889
Thanks: 3,250
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Quote from: sully666
Downstream speed is gradually dropping  Undecided

Do you mean data throughput speed as reported by the attached speed tester reports or modem synch speed?
The BT (data throughput) speed test reports an achievement about 1M below the BT profile - this could arise from a miss match between PN &BT profiles, doing the test over WIFi, other concurrent activity through your router or concurrent activity elsewhere in the back haul networks, depending on the time of day you ran the tests.
So if your concern is data throughput speed, does the PROFILE reported in the above BT speed tests match the profile reported here (you will need to login) on the PN 'current speed' page?  Was the test done over wifi or Ethernet cable?  Can you be sure that nothing else was using your Internet connection during the test?
If you are concerned about line synch speeds, visibility of your router stats would enable an assessment of if your line is synching at an optimal speed.
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

All speeds are via Ethernet cable. Up until a few weeks ago, when I started having real issues with my speed, I was always over 16Mbps on all speedtest checksers. Since then I am struggling to get over 14.5.
Estimated line speed:
18Mb (This may vary between 16Mb and 19.5Mb) - Checked on 2013-09-27 21:12:15
Current line speed:
15.3 Mb
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

And you're currently plugged into the master socket, with no extension wiring and all other sockets that are in use have a filter on?
I'll do an SNR reset for your line if so.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Nothing in my setup has changed.  Direct into Master Socket and all other items correctly filtered. Never had issues like this in all my time with BE  Sad
Did notice something about "Banding" and wondered if this could be relevant to my connection with all the issues I have had?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

OK, I've SNR reset your line, that should take effect within a couple of hours, hopefully that'll get the speed back.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Do I need to restart my router?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Rather than a restart, can you log in to it and disconnect/reconnect?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Had an email from my router manufacturer to upgrade firmware.  Have done that and had to redo setup.
Connection seems no better
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Quote from: Townman
If you are concerned about line synch speeds, visibility of your router stats would enable an assessment of if your line is synching at an optimal speed.

Full router stats (including sync speed, attenuation and noise margin) are needed if we are to able make any sensible comments.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,889
Thanks: 3,250
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

Hi Sully666,
This is very useful!!  From the information you have provided, your current synch speed 17.232Mps is within the range specified by the estimate (16 to 19.5Mbs).
The DATA THROUGHPUT rate is (IIRC) 87% of synch speed, thus you should not expect to see more than 14.99Mbs DATA TRANSFER speed.  So the DATA TRANSFER figures you report are not too far off the mark for your current synch speed.
The key question is have you consistently achieved a higher SYNCH speed? Your SNRM is currently 6dB which is normal, however given that your attenuation (if reported correctly) is very low I wonder if previously you have been working fine with a SNRM of 3dB?  This would have given you a little more synch speed.  PN should be able to examine your historic SNRM level from the BT back end systems.  If it has been consistently 3dB there might be something to be explored there.
Kitz suggests that for a line with 10dB attenuation at a SNRM of 6dB on ADSL2 24Mbs might be attainable.  I note that your router stats suggest that Annex M is in operation and that your up stream is uncapped.  In this area my knowledge is limited, but I wonder if the increased US synch rate is being attained at the expense of DS synch (and thus DATA TRANSFER) rates?  May be Jelv can comment on this.
Short of you being able to squeeze more SYNCH speed out of your line (above that given in the estimate) I would suggest that your DATA TRANSFER speed is within acceptable parameters for the current synch speed.
Is you phone line free of any noticeable noise or static?  If I wanted to push this further, I'd be looking to closely and dynamically monitor the SNRM using routerstats, sampling at 10 second intervals,  This would identify if your line is experiencing any intermittent electrical noise interference.
HTH,
Kevin
sully666
Grafter
Posts: 424
Registered: 10-03-2013

Re: Question #77930724 No response

That is mostly gobbledygook  Cheesy  but I can say that the phone line is now clear as a bell.
I saved a csv from speedtest.com last night that shows I had downstream speeds of over 16Mbps until 18th October. Had issues then with my line, and speed dropped substantially for quite a while. It has never been the same since  Undecided
Have attached a pdf version
Cannot understand why it was working at over 16Mbps until then but hasn't since  Maybe Plusnet team can explain.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Question #77930724 No response

I'm betting your target noise margin was 3 until you had issues with the line when it was raised to 6. If you leave everything alone and you have very few errors over a significant period the BT DLM system will probably decide to put you back on the 3db target.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)