cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profile reset

Stantheman
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 04-07-2013

Profile reset

In an attempt to investigate a noisy network line (with no success) a BT OR engineer disconnected me today and I was unable to reconnect for some 7 hours. I finally connected this evening, at half my normal download speed. Is it possible to reset my profile, or am I the victim of the dreaded DLM. Any assistance will be much appreciated.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Profile reset

Assuming this is FTTC, Plusnet cannot reset the DLM/IP Profile.
As long as the line remains stable, then it should return to normal speeds on its own.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,994
Thanks: 142
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Profile reset

As AndyH says, DLM should just take a day or two to resolve that.
Let us know if nothings changed, say around the start of next week.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Stantheman
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 04-07-2013

Re: Profile reset

Hi Andy.
Could you take a look at my profile please. Prior to my noisy line problem I was getting download speed of 64mbps and upload of 14mbps.  BTOR supposedly corrected the line noise problem a week ago and I was left with reduced line speeds, probably due to DLM. I would have expected my speeds to have settled by now , however I am only getting 44mbps down and a measly 2.4mbps up. My router stats are as follows:
Data rate:                      2696 / 53564
Maximum data rate :    12705 / 64771
Noise margin:                13.4 / 6.6
Line attenuation:              0.0 / 18.5
Signal attenuation:          0.0 / 18.3
I note that the noise margins have increased, originally 6.2 / 6.1
Stantheman
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 04-07-2013

Re: Profile reset

Adam, please accept my apology for calling you Andy !
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,994
Thanks: 142
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Profile reset

Quote
Adam, please accept my apology for calling you Andy !

No worries! It happens every now and again.
Quote
Could you take a look at my profile please

I have and it's matching BT's profile, diagnostics aren't revealing any obvious issues either.
I note we've been looking at a phone fault for you, that will have some effect on your fibre speeds. Is noise on the line still an issue?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team