cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

Hi guys and gals,
Third time this has happened, I'm not really sure what's going on. It seems everytime the line profile gets adjusted to 15000+, it eventually goes back to 8000 or so. What's going on?
Cheers Smiley
Uptime: 7 days, 4:11:18
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 8,517
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 2.79 / 57.40
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 5.0 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.7 / 26.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 8.9 / 15.7
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 61 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 7 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 984,996 / 392
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 39,311 / 469,246,643
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4,037,862 / 36,620,463
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,363,450 / 18,619,659
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

Just look at your errors - that is what is going on
You need to find out the reason and if it is on your side of the test socket fix it and if it is on the exchange socket raise a fault
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

How will I know if it's on my side or not?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

Assuming you have a master socket with a removable faceplate
Remove the lower half and plug the router and phone via a filter to the test socket behind it then watch the errors
There is a video explaining it linked in this post http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

@aj007
If it's easier for you to do we can do tests from here with the router in and also out of the test socket, any changes in the number of errors or the way the line is performing can help us locate a fault for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

How long should I leave the router on till posting stats?
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

Sorry for the double post, thought I'd throw some stats up:
Uptime: 0 days, 3:02:58
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 8,592
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 100.04 / 2.19
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.7 / 26.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 9.3 / 15.4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 15 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,066 / 318
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
I'm not sure if interleaving is on for our line, would that help with the errors?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

interleaving is already on
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

It certainly looks better in your test socket although your speeds have not increased, I'd suggest running through our faults wizard at http://faults.plus.net and run through the checks and we'll take a closer look at this.
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎19-12-2012

Re: Profile defaulted to 888 / 8,517... again?

Will do, thanks Smiley