cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with alternative routers

ray951
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2013

Problem with alternative routers

I had Plusnet fibre installed last week and all is working fine with the standard Thomson router.
But I am struggling to use an alternative router with my service.
1) I tried to use my Linksys E3000 with the standard firmware but it wouldn't connect.
2) Loaded Dd-wrt onto E3000 and tried again and it refused to connect, so I thought there must be something wrong with the router.
3) Purchased an Asus RT-N56u and that too refused to connect.
In all 3 examples I have switched the openreach modem off for 10 minutes, used PPPoE with myusername@plusdsl.net and with and without a password in all cases. I have also spoofed the thomson MAC address to see if that would help, but nothing. And as far as I can tell there appear to be plusnet fibre customers who are already using the E3000 with and without DD-WRt and the Asus RT-N56u, so what's the secret:-)
I am doing somthing obviously wrong?
Has anyone any suggestions about what also I could try ?
or whether there is an issue with my connection or account?
Thanks
Ray
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,320
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Problem with alternative routers

No real reason why an alternative router shouldn't work with Plusnet Fibre (I use a non-standard router with mine).
Is the Plusnet router on 'Auto set-up'?  Are you certain of your password (I think it's the same one you use to log into the member centre: https://portal.plus.net/index_nlp.html - don't confuse it with, say, the wi-fi password on the Plusnet router).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Bright
Grafter
Posts: 363
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Problem with alternative routers

No problem connecting with an Asus RT-N66U here. I'd suggest doing a factory reset on the Asus. Then connect it to the BTOR modem. Make sure the DSL light is green on the modem, then log into the Asus management page. It should run through its set-up wizard and auto-detect the connection type (PPPoE). All you should need to enter are your DSL username and password, and also configure the wifi set-up you want.
The DSL username is, as you say, username@plusdsl.net where "username" and the password are the ones you use to log into the PN Members' Centre.
Bear in mind that if you just power down the TG582n before disconnecting it from the modem, the PPPoE session is not dropped and it will take about 8 minutes before the session times out and you can log in again. So click the "Disconnect" button on the TG582n's admin interface to properly disconnect PPPoE before swapping it for your other router.
ray951
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2013

Re: Problem with alternative routers

Thanks for your suggestions, not much difference from what I have been doing except for disconnecting the Thomson router which seems a good idea.  But certainly worth trying again.
I had auto-setup on the Asus router straight out of the box and it didn't recognise it as PPPoE, even when I entered my username it didn't recognise it as PPPoE.
I am a bit confused about the requirement for a  password  because it doesn't mention it the Plusnet help page:
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/broadband-connection-settings.shtml#fibreConnectionSe... and scroll down to 2. Fibre broadband connection settings. I either left password blank or entered a 'dummy' password, maybe that information is wrong. It can't do any harm to try it with the plusnet password, if it isn't required it should just ignore it.
Thanks
Ray
Bright
Grafter
Posts: 363
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Problem with alternative routers

It requires the password
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Problem with alternative routers

The PN router will automaticly configure itself using their systems, 3rd party routers need the password entered, I use a Netgear N300 with no issues.
ray951
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2013

Re: Problem with alternative routers

Thanks to all the replies.
Having added the correct password I can now connect with my router Smiley
Shame the instructions aren't clearer.