cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

tvaughn
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2010

Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Hello,
I hope somebody can help. I have been trying for a while to assign the public ip address of my TG585v7 to the PS3 on my wired network so I can achieve open NAT, but I can not get the machine to connect to the internet at all in this setup. I have assigned the PS3 with the public ip of the router but the connection fails.
When I setup the PS3 on a normal DHCP ip it's fine, but I only get NAT type 2 (moderate) which doesn't seem to work with a lot of games I play
I'm running v8.2.6.5 of the firmware.
Any help greatly appreciated.

8 REPLIES
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

http://tigertelevision.blogspot.com/2010/02/thomson-tg585v7-modem-vs-xbox-live.html
this might help, short and sweet many find a downgrade of firmware works
when i tested a Thompson v7 i quickly tested it on my xbox and on giving it the public ip all other devices lost internet connection, i never had time to find out what was up as i just whacked my netgear back on
tvaughn
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2010

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Thanks Asbo Dog for the help.
Unfortunately the link off the link you posted now 404s Sad Sad Sad
I too had exactly the same issue with all other devices losing internet connection in version 7.(something) of the firmware so I upgraded the firmware to 8.2.6.5 and I can now assign the external ip to the PS3 without breaking the other computers on my the network.
But I can not for the life of me get the PS3 to connect to the internet, looking at the status of the network connection, it seems unable to see the ip of the router (it shows as 0.0.0.0 on the PS3) even though the router ip is set as 192.168.1.254 in the 585v7 devices overview page.
DHCP is setup and the PS3 seems able to grab its ip address from the router fine, but can't do anything further.
Anyone have any ideas what the issue is or have any access to the 7.4.4.1 firmware?
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

http://tigertelevision.blogspot.com/2010/02/thomson-tg585v7-modem-vs-xbox-live.html
works fine on this post office connection, any one else having problems with the link?
tvaughn
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-06-2010

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Sorry mate, I wasn;t clear. That link works fine but the link on the article tot eh 7.4.4.1 firmware is broken: This one:
http://www.thomson.net/GlobalChinese/broadband-uk/Drivers-Firmwares/Pages/default.aspx
I can;t find the firmware on the technicolor site at all. Sad
dick:quote
maximmortal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Hey guys
I'm having a similar problem with my Xbox. I assign a public IP and it works fine the first time. I always turn off my router and of course my Xbox when I go to work in the morning. One of the two being turned off causes 'something' to reset and so I have to repeat the whole process of assigning a public IP the next time I play.
I was looking into downgrading to 7.4.4.1 after reading that Tiger website with the broken link.
You could try: http://www.ipstore.us/info_support_int.html#upgradewizard
I think there's the wizard and the firmware on there. Maybe someone could try this out and see if it works? (I'm not trying it now, it's too late at night!) I'm assuming "TG-585v7 R7.4 (2.83M - 07/03/0Cool" is the one we need. There's also a 2-in-1 firmware/wizard combo on there if you don't want to download them separately Let me know how it works out for you and if it's better!
maximmortal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Just found this on the forum, which is a similar thing:
Hey euclid...
I hope I caught you just in time...  don't necessarily rush out to buy a new router.
Today I got round to trying some stuff out.  My reasoning was this:
- The router was free from plusnet
- It's already broken, so I'd resigned myself to buying a new one of my own anyway, therefore messing without couldn't make things any worse.
I did a little more googling and found this forum message:
http://forums.thinkbroadb...-v7.html?fpart=2&vc=1
This linked me to:
http://ipstore.us/info_support_int.html
I clicked the link named "TG-585v7 Upgrade Wizard w/7.4 (ZIP - 6.75M)" which downloaded:
http://ipstore.us/softwar...0Wizard%20w74%20(ZIP).zip
Ran the wizard, it takes quite a long time, I have to say, then the wizard thought it had lost the connection to the router, but I noticed windows seemed happy enough and had been given an address.  I went to http://dsldevice.lan/ and lo and behold, I have a more generic Thomson page, with out all the plusnet customisation.  (That said, it's not that disimilar, and there weren't really any more configuration options available).
It's getting late tonight, so I've only done some brief testing, but I can report to you that I successfully configured the router only using the web interface (no hacking config files, telnet, etc) to assign my desktop the public address.  To my amazement, it worked properly and packets were flowing normally.  Even better though, you're still able to access the management page on the router itself at 192.168.1.254.  I'd guess therefore, if you had additional clients, they might also work as expected with other RFC1918 addresses.
The only other tests I performed were a power cycle of the router to make sure it remember the settings, and this time it did.  I also checked my desktop (which runs XP) could receive some form of incoming connection, this worked ok.  I'll do some more extensive tests in the next few days with a proper OS and see just how much actually comes in, and how well the router performs under some sort of load.
So far, I'm impressed though.  Will keep you posted!
Only other point I should mention, the firmware version has gone from 7.4.4.7 to 7.4.2.something, so it is some form of downgrade, you may want to be warey of this.
Cheers,
pinkj
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,437
Thanks: 1,013
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Links are completely broken due to copying a link from a truncated link in a forum
maximmortal
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-06-2010

Re: Problem assigning public ip to my PS3 in TG585v7

Oh sorry. I'll sort it at some point when I'm not at work.
The link in my original reply should work as I copied and pasted it from the address bar. That's the most important link anyway.