cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

tudou
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎05-04-2011

Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

I've been on the 60GB limit package since I joined Plusnet. I'm finding that it isn't quite enough and we are going to have guests staying with us for about 6 months in the near future so we will almost definitely be exceeding this limit on a monthly basis.
Is it possible to get a deal with a higher monthly limit (a la Fiber 250 GB)? I've been satisfied with the service thus far, and I don't have any incling to leave but when another provider is offering unlimited monthly limits for a little bit more than I pay at the moment I can't see myself sticking around.
24 REPLIES
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Don't forget BT charge Plusnet on the wholesale bandwidth usage as the 20CN / 21CN are far expensive than FTTC. So, I think Plusnet stick and staying with 60GB for at least another year until BT review annual next year to get the bandwidth charge down or up.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

There is the option for 120GB - see this https://portal.plus.net/wizard/?wizard_id=20
Click on Extra Usage
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Blimey I never seen this! That's pretty good. Thanks Oldjim for spotting that!
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,190
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Be aware that 120 gig option, if on a market 2 exchange you get charged the full price of £19.99.  Currently market 2 exchanges get the market 3 price reduction for a normal connection, but not on that trial.  £11.49 verses £19.99 a month, I'll stick to watching my bandwidth.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

I think extra usage allowance will result to re-cap your line speed because it sent the submit order to BT to upgrade to premium product as the result of your current line speed will be changing by BT. So, beware of it! Eg: Upload uncapped will changed back to 448K.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Changing to the product linked does *not* send an order to BT, it's a product on our systems not theirs. Therefore it doesn't touch line speed.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Yes but why my ticket Question #60098378 say
Dear Mr .............
After further investigation into what the order refers to, I have found that when the order to change to Premium goes through it will automatically re-cap your upload speed.
Once the product change is complete you will be able to uncap this again, but unfortunately we cannot do it until the order completes.
Please do not hesitate to get back in touch online at http://contactus.plus.net or by phone on 0800 432 0200 if we can be of further assistance.
Kind regards,
John ...........
As I had request to upgrade from 60GB to 120GB earlier on today.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,298
Thanks: 628
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

weird.  Needs a look at.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Kelly please read my ticket # 60095621, 60095622, 142514051, 60095830 and 60098378. Seem rather confused of my order to premium product as I thought it only just usage allowance change to 120GB from 60Gb not the whole of BT product change and capped upload 448K, is not right! Please investigated it Kelly,
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,298
Thanks: 628
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Don't worry, we'll make sure you get uncapped.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Did you request the change to Premium via the trials.plus.net link provided earlier or did you open a normal ticket for this? There are only a few of us doing these tickets, so contacting the CSC via the usual channels wouldn't have had the desired effect as they haven't been told to do these changes.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

It is just a product change on our side, and looking at the install diary (on our systems this tracks orders) it shows that the order type place has been for a 21CN uncapped upstream.
Quote from: goldenadsl
I use this link and it went straight to this link here: https://portal.plus.net/wizard/index.html?Ea82ChdSAqqwtYJcjZV%2Fjl8BeHfnW7oglNgCZhYbQ23FyRVJeEpVZmAn...

Yep, but it looks like you then called in too? If you had waited until tomorrow one of the guys trained on that ticket pool would have picked it up and sorted this out for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Possible to increase 60GB Limit?

ok thanks chris, hope they sort it out for me!