cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible routing issue

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Possible routing issue

Can anyone access http://getpocket.com
I can not access or ping it directly but ok if I go through a proxy.
Gateway: ag06
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Possible routing issue

Working fine here.
Which gateway
You are currently connected to gateway ptw-ag02.
This is located in Telehouse West.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Possible routing issue

Quote from: Jaggies

You are currently connected to gateway ptw-ag02.


Why do you think that?
Also tried these gateways without any success.
ag08 no access
ag03 no access
ag06 no access
ag01 no access
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Possible routing issue

I can access it fine and I'm on pcl-ag06.
getpocket.com seems to be 23.21.237.192 and 50.17.230.90, regardless of which DNS server you're using, traceroutes to either of those addresses disappear into Amazon's network.
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Possible routing issue

Ping times out, however the website loads OK
C:\Documents and Settings\Alastair>tracert pocket.com
Tracing route to pocket.com [64.132.6.38]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  2    57 ms    51 ms    56 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.182]
  3    51 ms    51 ms    51 ms  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.162]
  4    50 ms    50 ms    51 ms  xe-10-0-0.pcl-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.194]
  5    52 ms    53 ms    52 ms  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  6    53 ms    51 ms    51 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
  7    52 ms    *      224 ms  te-3-4.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.181]
  8  131 ms  132 ms  131 ms  ae-52-52.csw2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.120]
  9  132 ms  132 ms  132 ms  ae-59-224.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.141]
10  132 ms  132 ms  133 ms  ae-42-42.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.137.70]
11  132 ms  133 ms  133 ms  4.69.201.62
12  132 ms  134 ms  132 ms  4.69.202.61
13  133 ms  133 ms  132 ms  ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.158]
14  137 ms  131 ms  133 ms  ae-4-90.edge2.Washington4.Level3.net [4.69.149.208]
15  132 ms  133 ms  132 ms  TWTC-level3-1x10G.Washington.Level3.net [4.53.114.10]
16  172 ms  171 ms  171 ms  sat1-ar3-xe-2-0-0-0.us.twtelecom.net [66.192.244.170]
17  179 ms  181 ms  180 ms  64.132.228.74
18    *        *        *    Request timed out.
19    *        *        *    Request timed out.
20    *        *        *    Request timed out.
21    *        *        *    Request timed out.
22  ^C
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Possible routing issue

Quote from: Apprentice
C:\Documents and Settings\Alastair>tracert pocket.com

You've gone to pocket.com instead of getpocket.com
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Possible routing issue

I can browse to it on pcl-ag07
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Possible routing issue

Thanks all.
Just changed from firefox to IE and the site now loads.  Undecided
I'll post back when I find what the problem is with firefox.
Edit:
Cleared Firefox cache and now loading.  Embarrassed
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Possible routing issue

Quote from: ejs
Quote from: Apprentice
C:\Documents and Settings\Alastair>tracert pocket.com

You've gone to pocket.com instead of getpocket.com

Ouch,looks like it's maybe time for me to visit them in the not too distant  Sad