cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible packet loss?

networknovice

Possible packet loss?

Long time PN customer, never had any major connection issues in that time, and still don't have problems with general web usage.  However I'm a bit of a novice to online gaming.  Recently got into Rocket League, my connection has been fine.  But for the last couple of weeks I've had rubberbanding/lagging a few times per 5 minute match.  I've reinstalled the game, but the problem exists still.

I did a bit of basic googling and used the command ping plus.net -n 300 ; here are the results:

Ping statistics for 212.159.8.2:
Packets: Sent = 300, Received = 295, Lost = 5 (1% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 21ms, Maximum = 439ms, Average = 29ms

Is this out of the ordinary and worth raising a support ticket for, or just one of those things?  I've changed sockets, microfilters, and used a wired connection to the router.  One thing that may or not be related is that my speed test results have gone up 50% from previous months.  Also I don't seem to have any gaming usage in my usage stats, don't know if that affects things.

13 REPLIES 13
silkysean
Grafter

Re: Possible packet loss?

Yep I've been getting this the last few days too. Something is wrong at the server end I'm certain

Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Do you experience problems with any other online services? What happens to your ping at that point? Wired/wireless connection?

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
silkysean
Grafter

I've replicated the OP's test. I'm getting similar results, although not as bad. Still bad enough to effect my online gaming which is the whole reason I have broadband!

Ping statistics for 212.159.8.2:
Packets: Sent = 300, Received = 297, Lost = 3 (1% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 20ms, Maximum = 62ms, Average = 22ms