cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible line issues

jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Possible line issues

Hi There. I am raising a new thread in the hope that PlusNet will see this post and respond accordingly. My download speeds used to be 6.5mbps but more recently I am only attaining 5.5mbps. I have posted some line stats on the thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,131324.0.html and need some advice on whether there are issues that need resolving on my line. Sync speed has dropped, hence the change in download speeds.
Thanks,
Jonathan
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Possible line issues

can you post the current relevant stats in this thread.
jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Re: Possible line issues

Current line speed:
6 Mb
BT Test
1. Best Effort Test:
Download Speed : 5.4 Mbps
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 10 days, 4:46:28
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7.232
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1,05 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 20,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,5 / 39,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 19,0 / 9,9
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 375 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 42 / 887.678
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 26 / 666
HEC Errors (Up/Down): -6 / 666 / 11.243
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Possible line issues

For some reason your default noise margin has raised from 6dB to 9dB
There is no obvious reason for that so a line reset may be required - Plusnet would need to do it
However there is a potential problem - you appear to be on 20CN or on ADSL1 on 21CN
Can you put details in here http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/ and report what it says about WBC on 21CN
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,464
Thanks: 1,926
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Possible line issues

Multiple threads on the same issue is not helpful and against the forum rules.
A good deal of analysis of this issue has already been performed, therefore can these threads be merged please?
As per my last post on the other thread, this needs CRT input - or a formal fault report raising here... Http://faults.plus.net
jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Re: Possible line issues

@Oldjim  My exchange hasn't been upgraded unfortunately so it is still 20CN. BT have not advised a planned date for WBC on 21CN.
@Townman Please quit with your red tape comments - it's not helpful. As you can see, I got no response from CRT from the last thread. I waited over 2 weeks since we last chatted for CRT input so I have listened to you. You didn't mention anything about formally raising a fault (nor are you a mod) so naturally I am still pursuing this issue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Possible line issues

Given the relatively few errors reported raising a fault is unlikely to get you anywhere
I will flag this new thread up to staff if it isn't picked up this morning as initiating a retrain (I think that is what is needed on 20CN) isn't something a normal support agent would be able to do and that is the only way of getting your speed back up to what it used to be
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,464
Thanks: 1,926
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Possible line issues

Jonathan,
When informal process fail, then use the formal ones.  I see no relevance in your comment about mods.  Given the sharpness of your comments I am not inclined to help you any further - I will give such time that I have available to those more respectful of the free advice offered.
Lips are sealed
DanHodby
Grafter
Posts: 248
Registered: 23-10-2013

Re: Possible line issues

Hi Jonathan,
Can you raise a fault then post your ticket number and I'll take a look.
jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Re: Possible line issues

@OldJim Thanks for your help
@Townman I didn't mean to be rude but you have been a little sharp with your comments on a couple of occasions. And the mod comment was relevant because you have no ability to enforce or act upon any of the rules stated - leave that to the mods.
@Dan H Will do. Do I have to go through the full troubleshooter to raise a ticket?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Possible line issues

go through the full troubleshooter unfortunately as that triggers a load of line tests
jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Re: Possible line issues

Apologies for the delay. I have been through the troubleshooter and carried out all required tests. No ticket number was issue at the end despite it saying a ticket was raised. Where can I find this?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,464
Thanks: 1,926
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Possible line issues

Hi Jon,
Log in to the user portal / member centre.  Go to Help & Support - look for My Questions.  I'm not on my PC so getting a link for you is not practical.
DO NOT update the ticket - it will just delay things.
Kevin
jbrumhead
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 25-07-2013

Re: Possible line issues

Thanks Kevin! Dan H / Other CRT member, ticket number is 92177523
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Possible line issues

Thanks for confirming this for us JonathanB,
It looks as though this is now sat with Dan H awaiting to completion of testing. You should see some movement on this soon.