cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

lawsofphysics
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 04-08-2011

Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

For the past few days I've had very variable fibre speeds on wireless on my fibre connection. After originally suspecting the devices themselves, the patterm seems to be that the speed is particularly poor and variable using wireless connection. The speeds below show a typical difference in the speeds, with the results taken moments apart. The results are pretty typical of what I've seen in the last few days. Obviously the slower speed is the wireless one. Apols if this isn't the most efficient way of posting the results.
I tried to use the official speedtester.bt site but you can't run consecutive tests and it wouldn't work anyway.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1915434358.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1915442613.png
I have the Netgear N150 which was issued when I got fibre. Tried doing a soft reboot and hard reboot (i.e. switching off and on again). There appears to be no firmware update. I've also used InSSIDer to make sure there's no interference from neighbours (There isn't. I'm the only one using Channel 6 that registers).
Could the router be on the blink? What next steps can I run to verify this, and if there is an issue, will Plusnet issue a replacement?
Thanks
Kev
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,975
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

There could be non-wifi interference that InSSIDer wouldn't show. Try different channels, regardless of the number of other networks shown also using them. The number of networks doesn't really indicate how busy a channel is anyway - there could be 6 networks that all get very light use, but 1 network might have far more devices in it, and have lots of internal transfers or streaming media over the wifi.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,827
Thanks: 111
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

Typically wireless speeds will be slower than via ethernet but that is fairly extreme according to the test results you've posted.
Without wanting to jump to conclusions about a possible issue with the router it would be worth giving the following a try if you haven't already:
First manually change the wireless channel to one of the highest available (usually 11-13). Also are you sure that you are connecting to the right wireless network? To give a good example I had to change routers a couple of days ago at home and it seems one of my neighbours has just installed a PN connection so I did have to look twice when setting up the connection to my Xbox and PC.
Also what's the distance like between PC and router?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
lawsofphysics
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 04-08-2011

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

I will manually change the channel when I get back home and report back on here. It's on Chennel 6 at the moment. I deliberately avoided 11 as two of my neighbours appeared on that channel on InSSIDer. Hadn't twigged that there was 12 and 13 though, so will try those.
In the example I gave previously my laptop was as close to the router wireless as it was wired i.e. right next to it. Distance doesn't seem to have a huge effect.
lawsofphysics
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 04-08-2011

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

The signs aren't good.
Result at Channel 11:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1917215987.png
Result at Channel 12:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1917180540.png
Result at Channel 13:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1917213430.png
Result on wired connection:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1917204697.png
Again, I'm on my laptop right next to the router and running consecutive tests. I've unplugged everything else in the room to try and rule out any electronic interference nearby. I find it a little odd that the upload speeds aren't particularly affected, but maybe that's not unusual.
Any other suggestions?
Thanks
Kev
lawsofphysics
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 04-08-2011

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

Do I need to escalate this as a formal fault now, or will it be picked up here by the Plusnet team?
Thanks
AxeMurderer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: 18-05-2011

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

It is best if you raise it as a fault. Sometimes PN staff pick things up direct from the forum, but it would be unwise to rely on that.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Poor fibre speeds - router issue?

Hi there,
It's always best to raise a fault via http://faults.plus.net anyway - that way we know you've done all the tests that are needed before we can escalate a fault. Works out faster than us raising a ticket then someone having to call out or send it back to ask for tests to be done before we raise it.