cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor Speed Copy of previous message

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Service Discussion / Community Support / Speed- speed-speed  on: 30/07/2007, 16:31  Repeat
Lots of talk about speed and megabites , How about us poor users with 512 broadband how can we improve our speed with "probably dodgy"  B.T lines . I would hapily change providers if my speed were to be doubled , but I supose it is down to the line conditions , but I do have close neighbours with other providers who do  better and thats what I may do, any advice apreciated  Regards  E
10 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,294
Thanks: 1,070
Fixes: 86
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Hi there,
Does your modem or router report line stats (read: line attenuation and SNR margin)? Also what does the BT Wholesale checker here say you should get?
You're currently on a fixed 512kbps service so you might benefit if we were to upgrade you to IPStream Max.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Downstream SNR (or Noise Margin) is the key figure. The higher it is above 6dB the higher the likely sync speed you will get if you switch to ADSL Max.
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

 
System Up Time 05:12:39
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 7101 8373 0 62 403 05:11:14
LAN 10M/100M 8899 7746 0 417 74 05:12:35
WLAN 11M/54M 131 0 0 1 0 05:12:26

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 576 kbps 288 kbps
Line Attenuation 63 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin 14 db 17 db

These are my readings from my Netgear Router
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Hello there it Says I should get 500 or greater on B.T. Site
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

You should get 1 -> 1.5Mbs with those stats but probably not much more if you upgraded to ADSL Max. You are probably 5 -> 6KM in line length from the exchange - i.e. a long way hence why the speed is so low.
The BT figure is just a guide/guess based on line length they have in their database but everyone's line is different.
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Then why do I only get 512 ? Should I perhaps go max ?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

As Bob stated previously, you are on IPstream Home 512 which is a fixed speed product. To get a faster speed you need to request an upgrade to IPStream Max.
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Thanks for the advice , How do I upgrade ? and should this not work can I revert to 512, as this has been very reliable since I had the Netgear. Prior to that it was awful Regards  E
   
System Up Time 00:10:03
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 763 685 0 544 767 00:08:19
LAN 10M/100M 980 1101 0 854 559 00:09:59
WLAN 11M/54M 76 0 0 16 0 00:09:50

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 576 kbps 288 kbps
Line Attenuation 63 db 15.5 db
Noise Margin 14 db 17 db

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Hi,
If you want to upgrade to Max you can do by placing a request via http://max.plus.net
I would caution you though that because of the line length you may not see much of an improvement and that you might see some instability. We can regrade the line back to 512kbps although it is normally best to run through the fault process first to a) see if it can be fixed and b) see if it was caused by something other than the regrade (I've seen some where we've regraded it back and the fault was still the same).
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 583
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Poor Speed Copy of previous message

Thank you Dave I have put in the necessary request, or thought I had .( now did i again) I feel I must try as very close neighbours with someone else do get faster speeds Regards  E