cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Unlimited

Daniel8998

Plusnet Unlimited

Hi guys,
I'm new to Plusnet, but not new to the Internet (so I apologise for any repeated issues).
I bought the Plusnet Unlimited package last week and was very aware of the traffic management speeds which would be put in place, specifically to usenet stuff, downloading from newsgroups.
My main question to other Unlimited users (regarding usenet mainly as everything else seems to be working okay and I have checked in the post 'Broadband Speed Issues' - but i didnt notice (at a glance) anyone else who was using this package).
I have noted down, (as I cant see this offer on the website anymore, so im guessing it was a limited offer or something) the speeds in which this package should offer regarding usenet.
I've been fine between 12am-12pm (full speeds) but as soon as I hit 12pm my speeds go to a maintained speed of 60kb (should be 512kb) at 2pm my speeds hit 30kb (should be 256kb) and im guessing again, like the previous night, at 4pm it'll drop to 15kb (should be 164kb).
What are other people experiencing on the Unlimited package now and in the past? I have been advised that there are current issues and the speeds will improve, however, as i said, I am new, so would like to get an insight to other users speeds.
I tend, like alot of people who will batter newsgroups, to download over night, but I do tend to download the odd thing during the day, which is why speeds of 512, 256kb etc doesnt bother me.. but at the moment during the day I get between 60-15kb which is pretty poor.
Thanks for any comments
Danny
9 REPLIES 9
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Re: Plusnet Unlimited

welcome to the forums Smiley
I wonder if  you are getting your KB and kb mixed up? 512kb = 64KB and 256kb = 30KB, there are 8 bits in a byte.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
scootie
Grafter