cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

mgillespie
Grafter
Posts: 222
Registered: 08-04-2007

Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Hi, I recommended some collegues at work to Plusnet, and they have been pretty happy with the service.  Yesterday at work we got into a discussion about content filtering (as they have kids, with PS3, PSP and DS etc as well as their PC's).
I suggested switching over to use OpenDNS, as they can block access to site categories..
However it turns out they have Thomson TG585v7 Plusnet supplied router, and it seems (I may be wrong, as I haven't seen it in person), that you can't select manual DNS servers, you can only use Plusnets.
Is this true?  Is there any way to override this in the router config?
Clearly they don't want to be manually putting OpenDNS settings into each network device, as a 10yr old can easilly set it back to "auto" and get Plusnets unfiltered DNS servers again... (defeating the point).

11 REPLIES
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Hi there,
You can do this, but you have to do it via Telnet.
There's a post from a while back on this somewhere, I'll dig it out.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Cheers Smiley
mgillespie
Grafter
Posts: 222
Registered: 08-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Thanks.  That's mostly clear enough.
However the example seems to only have a single DNS server.  How does this relate to primary and secondary? 
Do you set the primary one as metric=1 an the secondary one as metric=2 ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,692
Thanks: 916
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

There's an easier way - don't use your router as the DNS server for your LAN. On your PC manually configure the DNS servers to the OpenDNS ones instead of using the router which you will get if you leave it set to automatic.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
mgillespie
Grafter
Posts: 222
Registered: 08-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

As explained, this is a poor choice, as a slightly smart 10yr old will switch their DS/PSP back to "auto" and have the whole internet open to them again....
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Quote from: mgillespie
Thanks.  That's mostly clear enough.
However the example seems to only have a single DNS server.  How does this relate to primary and secondary? 
Do you set the primary one as metric=1 an the secondary one as metric=2 ?
That is correct
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,692
Thanks: 916
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

Quote from: mgillespie
As explained, this is a poor choice, as a slightly smart 10yr old will switch their DS/PSP back to "auto" and have the whole internet open to them again....

... and they can just as easily change the auto to any unfiltered DNS server!
You'd have to also block DNS requests going out on to the internet - but I suspect that may mess up other things.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
mgillespie
Grafter
Posts: 222
Registered: 08-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

I wouldn't say "just as easily".  They would have to find out Plusnet (or someone elses" DNS servers.  The reality is new setup wizards all default to auto.  It it would be very easy to lose the OpenDNS settings, wheras setting it in the router is much more of a sound (but not totally foolproof) solution.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,692
Thanks: 916
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

I think you are underestimating the power of the playground networking system. One comment about how they are blocked and there's bound to be a smart alec in there class who knows how to get round it!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet/Thomson TG585v7 router and OpenDNS

There's a way around most things, and most kids know about 'em, if they have access to google and a small amount of technical knowledge they'll figure it out.
Doesn't mean you shouldn't try your best to thwart them though. Wink