cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

DuncanM
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 21-02-2012

Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

I'm on Fibre Extra with he £5.00 Pro add on. I just checked here which was updated on the 23/8/12 http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/download_speeds.shtml
I see the most of the restrictions have now been lifted (wish i had kept a copy of the previous tables where most things were throttled back) and as I am pretty sure I don't use the only two that are restricted to 2 MB (not really sure what they are for)  I should probably save myself the £5 a month and remove it. I only added six months ago it to ensure I could watch Iplayer in HD on my big TV.
Thoughts anyone ? Any downside to removing it ?
12 REPLIES
houlton23
Grafter
Posts: 268
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Chances are if you don't know what P2P (peer to peer file sharing) and FTP are then you don't use them.
I still have the old table for Fibre Extra:
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

If your not using P2P or External FTP then it probably isn't something you will need. You can remove it and always re-add it if you did need it.
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Quote from: chrispurvey
You can remove it and always re-add it if you did need it.

i was one of the FTTC trialists and also have the pro addon, am i correct in thinking that my package is almost the same as Plusnet Value Fibre
apart from FTP/p2p and that i'm still capped at 20gb usage?
also would be nice if my usage could be increased to 40gb as an act of good faith ( IMHO ) without me having to go through paying for an 'upgrade' etc...
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Your package is very similar to the Value fibre package, you can compare the products <a href="http://usergroup.plus.net/prodcomp1.php>here</a>.
With the current package you are currently on, it would be worth changing to our Extra package(60GB) and having the pro add-on. This would be the same price and actually give slightly better priority.
I had presumed you had been placed back to ADSL as you were still on the Pro package. So this wouldn't apply to you, although it may be worth looking at the Value fibre package at the same price.
StuartUK35
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: 09-09-2011

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

I pay for the PRO Service, but will be taking it off as of next billing date (reminder set)...
When i first had fibre, i had to have pro as my 40mb 'value' line became an average throttled line of 5mb between 8am and 12am (3 qtr's of the day).
Could have had the 'extra' package, but still would have been an average throttled 10mb service for 3 qtr's of the day... (although did move to the extra part when i did the 80/20 trial)
Now the 80 trial has finished, and i pay for the extra package with pro addon, the way i test things for throughput, and consistency makes me wonder if the PRO package is a load of B...........  (no offense PN staff, much respect to you guys.. Smiley )
So if the new info states line speed for most data, and capped Peer traffic for evenings, then fair enough, time to get rid of Pro.........
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Pro add-on will still give higher priorities, but in for some customers it may not make any difference depending on how you use the internet and what you use it for.
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Quote from: chrispurvey
Pro add-on will still give higher priorities

in what way, according to the tables it's just ftp and p2p file sharing?
also will i be charged that £25 for doing very little?
like i say though would be nice if my allowance could be bumped up to 40gb for free as it'd bring me into line...
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,185
Thanks: 508
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Priority is different to rate limits.
P2P is still in Bronze on Fibre.  With Pro, it is in Gold.  This means little in times when the network is very quiet, but at peak hours (and during events such as last nights IOS6 release) traffic in higher queues take priority when the network gets full.
Pro removes those peak time rate limits on the P2P/Usenet/FTP traffic and also elevates everything to a minimum queue of Gold.
This does bring with it a risk that your P2P could impact your streaming performance (i.e. it will fight with your streaming because it is held at the same priority) but we'd expect you to understand that if you had selected Pro,  Time sensitive traffic such as VoIP should be unaffected by that is it will still be prioritised above the gold traffic by being in titanium.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

so any chance of us ex fttc trialist having our allowance of 20gb brought upto 40gb
would be a nice gesture i feel and i doubt it would impact you much
i'm mostly under 20gb, but every now and then i run close...
and i'm avoiding watching the bbc on it which is a shame...
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

Why not just change to the Fibre Value product?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

@bluewhale,
The big problem with doing that is we'd have to change the product design for everyone (fibre and non-fibre) for the product you're on. To increase your usage you'd need to switch to one of the current fibre products.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Pro add on for Fibre - any point in keeping it now ?

ok fair enough...