cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet HubOne

stevie5141
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-10-2016

Plusnet HubOne

Hi All,

I've been having problems with the WiFi from my router running slow. The broadband is fine and speed check confirms this but browsing or downloading seems to stutter quite often and takes ages even to open a single webpage. One strange thing I have noticed is that when the Wifi is in use the router makes a noise which can only be described as a cross between a dial up modem and the snow storm you used to get on the TV when you didn't have signal lol.... I'm thinking the router might by bust, has anyone else experienced this and how do I go about getting an new router?

Thanks

8 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,246
Thanks: 539
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet HubOne

The noise is a well known problem with some Hub Ones. There have been reports that it improves if you switch off the 5GHz band. If it's fairly new you could ask Plusnet to replace it.

This is nothing to do with slow line speeds. For that you need to run through the standard fault finding routines.

First do a quiet line test by plugging a wired telephone into the test socket, that's the one you find if you take the front off the master socket. Dial 17070 and select Option 2. If there's noise on the line then report a PHONE fault.

If that's OK then plug your router in to the test socket via a filter. Connect the router to a computer using an Ethernet cable and do a speed test, report the results here. If they're below the speed estimate Plusnet have given you then report a fault.

 

stevie5141
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-10-2016

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Like I say the line and actual download speed is fine, if I plug in via cable. If i'm using wireless however there is a lag. I will try turning off the 5GHz like you suggested. I've had the router since August so its fairly new.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,246
Thanks: 539
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet HubOne

OK I now understand that what you are experiencing is slow speed when connected via wireless. Two things to do, if you continue to use both the 2.4 and 5GHz bands then separate them by:

Log into the Hub One by pointing a web browser to 192.168.1.254

Go to Advanced Settings\Wireless.

 Click on 5 GHz wireless tab

Change the Sync with 2.4 GHz to No.

Add 5 to the wireless SSID so that you can tell them apart.

Having done that you can select each in turn on your wireless devices and use whichever band that is fastest.

Secondly, use a wifi 'sniffer' app (I use Wifi Analyser on an Android phone) to see if any neighbours are using the same wifi channel as you are. Check both at the router location and at each place where you use your devices. If you have strong neighbours signals using the same channel as you then again go into your router Advanced Settings and manually select the clearest channel.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,615
Thanks: 2,227
Fixes: 380
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Sorry to hear you're having problems with your wireless connection.

I'd recommend running through the steps advised by Baldrick1.

Let us know how you get on.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
stevie5141
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-10-2016

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Hi again,

 

I have tried doing all the things suggested and still appear to have an issue. I have also used a Wifi analyser and there is nothing else broadcasting on the same channel as me so the signal is good.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 169
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 6
Registered: 07-12-2017

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Sorry to hear that @stevie5141

 

You can find more advice on Wireless here with regards to positioning of the router and other causes of interference. Might be worth taking a look.

 

Let us know how you get on.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lauren Barry
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 203
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 7
Registered: 11-01-2018

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Hi @stevie5141

 

As discussed, I've arranged for a replacement router and returns bag to be sent to you in order to resolve the noisy router issue that you're experiencing.

 

Please let us know how you get on with the new router.

 

Best Wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
stevie5141
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-10-2016

Re: Plusnet HubOne

Thanks Dave, Much appreciated. Will let you know once the router has arrived.

 

Cheers