cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

I've only just spotted this – not sure for how long it's been there; it might've only appeared since I moved to Extra a couple of days ago. Are Plusnet willing to offer any indication of what these add-ons might be… and in fact can anyone even say with certainty that they are going to be made available? I still clearly remember the promised BBYW functionality, much of which was never delivered…
13 REPLIES
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

Shocked  Shocked  Shocked
am lost for words that PN would charge for static ip's, on top of not giving any web space.
chrisoldinho
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎12-04-2010

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

Eh? £5pm, I thought it was a one off £5 charge for PN Pro customers?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

I'm confused – where's all this talk of static IPs coming from? All I see when I go to that page is:
‘Currently there are no Add-Ons available for your account.
Keep checking here for new Add-Ons, as-and-when they become available.’.
I do already have a static IP though so perhaps that's why.
gswindale
Grafter
Posts: 942
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

and what's £5 per month?
The static IP is free is it not?
I've got the same
"Currently there are no Add-Ons available for your account.
Keep checking here for new Add-Ons, as-and-when they become available."
message.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,833
Thanks: 2,010
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

Asbo it's £5 on / off not per month

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,850
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

funny.  they didn't charge for mine.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,833
Thanks: 2,010
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

nor mine.. it's a new charge so if you wanted to swap now you'd incur a fee

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

Hi guys,
Any customer requesting a static IP since the new products launched will be charged a £5 one-off fee.
If you have a static IP already it won't show the option (logically).
We are planning more add-ons, though I can't tell you what they are just yet, sorry.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,833
Thanks: 2,010
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

boo Roll eyes

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

If I told you lot everything straightaway they'd stop telling me stuff. Tongue
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

so even thoe am on the unlimited package and signed up to PN when the terms and condtions was that static ip's was free, Am i going to be charged now if i want a static ip?
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

If you don't already have one then yes. It's part of the t+c changes made in April.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: ‘Plusnet Add-Ons’

PN are killing the niche customer base they have held on to through the good and bad times of your company's life time.
Got to say that the only saving grace of PN is your elite team within the company that deals with customers hands on and solve all the issues that pop up randomly or due to one of the lesser knowledgeable team members giving out rubbish info.
This is just my view and PN may or may not be changing into a business model that the mass public want. But for me, Ive been away for nearly 6 months and am pretty happy with this unlimited no rate capping network am on, the isp's only down fall is there rubbish csc and billing system ect and to be honest even tho they don't offer static ip or fast path ( which i don't really need as there router uses an offset to make sure the NM is 6db forever and seems to set the delay of interleaving to the lowest setting) i would stay with this new mass public isp am with or move to one of the remaining niche isp's.
am wondering why PN need to limit there bandwidth costs by rate capping as this isp am with uses bt retails wholesale network and offers unlimited broadband (which works very well for gaming) with a very nice phone package with free weekend mobile calls etc for 25 quid.