cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

Wheel_nut
Grafter
Posts: 886
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

One of my referral accounts is being upgraded to ADSL2+ at the end of November.He is currently using a Speedtouch 585V6 - Note Version 6.
Will this need upgraded Firmware installed prior to the upgrade? Current Level is 6.2.t.2
Would it be better to simply get a current PlusNet £4-99 Job?
What is the currently suppied Router?
R
6 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

my recently supplied £4.99 job  (£40 if you leave within a year)

System Information
This page summarizes important information on your Thomson Gateway. You may need this information when you contact your helpdesk.


Product Name: TG585 v7
Serial Number: #########
Software Release: 8.2.6.5
Software Variant: IU
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.0
Product Code: 36588280
Board Name: CANT-P
Wheel_nut
Grafter
Posts: 886
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

.... But does he have to upgrade or replace his 585V6 Router?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

According to broadband buyer even though it's discontinued it should be fine with ADSL2+. Might be worth having a look for an up to date firmware though, if it's not been kept up to date.
Hope that helps,
Wheel_nut
Grafter
Posts: 886
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

The account was upgraded to 992.5 on 16 November.
Am I correct in assuming that this is FTTC? The Sync Speed was 20,000 when I last looked.
Despite the high Sync Speed, Browsing is now much slower than before and in searching this forum, I see that PlusNet are running FTTC Trials which require a specially modified 585V7 Router.
So, my question is .... Does he need a new Router?
Merlin
Grafter
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

ADSL 2+ can (in theory) give you up to 20mbs but you would have to be close to the exchange to achieve that ie short line length.  I have a Speedtouch 585V6 which works fine on ADSL 2+
Regarding FTTC your friend would not be on that unless his exchange & cabinet are enabled and he had applied to be on the PN trial.  You can check if the exchange & cabinet are FTTC enabled via this link
http://www.btwholesale.com/pages/static/Community/Broadband_Community/Coverage/ADSL_Availibility_Che...
Merlin
Grafter
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: PlusNet upgrade to ADSL2+ - Router question

i should have added that for FTTC you need a cable router not an ADSL router.  It is not possible to 'modify' it.
As far as I am aware there is not a cable version of the 585 but I could be wrong on that.