cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please reset my ADSL2+

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Please reset my ADSL2+

Can plusnet please request BTW to reset SNR and ADSL2+ to restart 10 days training periods again. Because I am not very happy at all because at start three weeks ago I had solid 13.5Meg with IP Profile of 14000K and with sync of 16323K with SNR of 1.5db. And now  the sync speed had drop to 9679K with 14.9db SNR (This is totally unaccepted as the higher SNR mean the lower sync speed with IP Profile of 8000K is a joke really on ADSL2+ as I ain't happy as the exchange had adjustment to very high SNR of 14.9db and put me on fast path.
Please ask BT to adjustment back to 1.5db SNR and let the ADSL2+ to re-training again. I want a real ADSL2+ speed back as where I used to be before. Disappointed. My line can handle up to 14 Meg with between 1.0 and 1.5db SNR.
12 REPLIES
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: 08-05-2011

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

It won't be able to be put down to 1.5dB. It will be reset to 6dB. You will have to tweak the SNR with the router to go down to 1.5dB.
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

Yes ask BTW to reset to 6db then! I want a higher sync speed! I feel I was conned off by misleading adsl2+ as it was suppose to be 13-14 meg on my line, not up to 7 Meg with those silly 14.9db SNR.
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

I had turned off the router and switched it back on, and now unbelieved sync at lower at 9607K at 15.1db !!!! Where my proper ADSL2+ had gone ? I want BTW to reset back to 6db please
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: 08-05-2011

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

What router are you using?
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

A very good Netgear DG834N Rangemax wireless router with the latest firmware and it had a broadcom chip on it. Excellent router to tweak SNR and ADSL2+ support at the highest sync. My master socket is fitted with brand new ADSLNation faceplate with a professional hi-speed cable (short cable to the socket from the router 1 metre)
dick:quote
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

Can plusnet please reset SNR at my exchange as my connection 9727K still on 15db noise margin, I want it to reduce to 6db or even better 3db.
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

Can plusnet explain to me why I get sync at 9727K but max rate 14944K and also why is my downstream tx power 0.0dBm and the SNR creeping to 16.3dB ?
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

The maximum rate of 14944kbps is what it says the maximum rate without taking into account the SNR margin or any banding. You will find that the maximum rate will change during the day.
Power on ADSL2/2+ is handled differently and therefore the figures have less meaning and a large number of modem/router will just report this as 0.
SNR margin is fluid and will be changing during the day. You will find that it's at the highest in the day and at the lowest during the night. If you resync when the margin is at 16.3dB you will find after resync it will be 15dB and you sync speed will be higher, assuming that you are not on a banded profile.
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: 08-05-2011

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

Adam will pick up this thread soon. He is very busy, he is getting quite a few SNR resets done today. Please be patient, the SNR will get reset.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,412
Thanks: 244
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

I'll do it one last time but as stated rightly by Chris here: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,98420.16/topicseen.html we can't keep performing these ad-hoc as it just means that we're ignoring an underlying issue.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Please reset my ADSL2+

As your connection rate is 9727kbps and the maximum is 9728kbps on one of the banded profile ranges I would say that you are banded.