cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please check my line

daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Please check my line

Guys
Can you please take a look at my line for errors. It’s been fine for ages until the last week or so and now it keeps dropping connection.
I’ve done the usual and changed filters, router and in the test socket but it’s not helped.
Its starting to drive me mad..
Thank you
10 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Please check my line

Hi there,
I've posted a graph of your connection below:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13851189505067.png"/>
I've also noticed that your downstream SNR margin is set at 3dB, it might be worth is setting this to 6dB to see if this helps?
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Please check my line

Chris, thanks for your quick reply...
What do you think could be causing this?
My SNR has always been fixed at 3 and has been fine..
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Please check my line

Nothing stands out that could be causing this, is there any noise/interference on your phone line?
Also, have you been turning your router off longer periods of time?
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Please check my line

I dont have a phone plugged in we dont use the home phone.
It router is never switched off.. I left it off the other night as it wouldnt connect to the internet so I thought instead of it keep connecting and dropping which could end up reducing my speed I turned iit off and tried it again the in the morning.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Please check my line

Are you able to check with preferable a corded phone to see if your line does have any interference?
You've lost connection several times for quite a long period which is concerning with the drops you're having.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Please check my line

I dont have a phone... any other way to test?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Please check my line

I've tested your line and it's not coming up with any faults, but the besst way to test tbh is by using a handset.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Please check my line

Hmm, I'll have to see if I can get a phone, I dont rweallky wnat to buy one just to test. Saying that I could return it to the shop once tested :-/
If I can get one and plug it in do I still use the test socket and when can I expect to hear?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Please check my line

Yes use the test socket, ideally you need to hear a clear dial tone, you can do a quiet line test by dialling 17070 and choosing option 2.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎15-12-2011

Re: Please check my line

Cheers Chris