cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ping Issues

Gwigz
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 20-01-2015

Ping Issues

Hey folks,
I'm hoping someone here can help me out, or get me talking to the right people. My support ticket was going well, till the issue briefly resolved itself.
I used to be with Sky, was a happy customer, my Internet hadn't had any hiccups for the entire year. BUT, I had to cut down on our monthly payments, so since I switched to PlusNet, as they were offering a much better deal.
Anyway, every day I would get home from a long stressful day at work, boot up my computer as normal and then start playing a few online games. It was fine before, but now they're all giving me terrible ping issues, literally nothing is playable anymore. It's fine for browsing, and video streaming, just to put that clear my internet speed is fine, it is jus my connections ping.
I did contact support over this, there was a fair amount of back and forth, but there wasn't ever a conclusion. it randomly got better for a few days, but now it's useless again. I tried a little test, to give a good example of what the problem was:

Just to note, nothing in my house has changed, same router, wires, devices. Since the issue prolonged, I've tried using a different filter, the master/test socket and a different router, nothing helps.
I don't get it, never would I receive pings like this before I switched, there must be something wrong. It seems mainly connected to upload bandwidth, if that is touched (by a game) at all I start getting crazy high 2+ second pings and timeouts.
It's driving me crazy, I wish I never switched.
27 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Ping Issues

Those pings are horrendous, however I'm not sure what the IP you're pinging is? I've just tried pinging that address and whilst my results were nowhere near that high, they did fluctuate a lot. Can you try pinging something else, such as bbc.co.uk and see what the results show?
Your line looks pretty good quality, syncing at the full rate for a 20CN service with very few errors showing up.
The speedtests seem to be just focused on the upload rather than the download too, what tester is that as I've not seen that one before?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Gwigz
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 20-01-2015

Re: Ping Issues

Thanks Chris, it's nice to have such a quick reply!
I'm using http://testmy.net/ and the IP there is what was showing up for Google, anyway here's test results under BBC's site http://d.pr/i/15YSY.
Also, I am only running upload tests, my download is fine.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Ping Issues

I'm really struggling to find any issues with your line, but the pings are terrible.
The latest pings you've provided show the ping reducing pretty much every time a request is sent, that seems like odd behaviour.
Although from the summary at the bottom I can see that the minimum ping is 36ms, that's more like where I'd expect it to be.
I've not been through the previous faults on the account yet, but have you ruled out your router being the cause of any issues. Do you know someone else on ADSL that would let you use theirs for a test?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Gwigz
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 20-01-2015

Re: Ping Issues

I know other people on ADSL, test what though?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Ping Issues

Is that a wireless connection?
If so can you try a ping test to your router, IP 192.168.1.254 if using the plusnet one
Also can you post your router stats please.
Gwigz
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 20-01-2015

Re: Ping Issues

It's a direct line, and pinging my router gives me a 0.6ms average. Here's some output from the router:

Operation DataUpstreamDownstream
Noise Margin24.0 dB7.1 dB
Line Attenuation23.0 dB35.0 dB

Near End IndicatorFar End Indicator
Output Power12.2 dBm19.9 dBm
Fast Path FEC CorrectionN/AN/A
Interleaved Path FEC Correction147610
Fast Path CRC ErrorN/AN/A
Interleaved Path CRC Error331
Loss of Signal Defect00
Fast Path HEC Error STRN/AN/A
Interleaved Path HEC Error3401
Error Seconds240

Broadband TypeADSL
Broadband State Connected
Internet State Connected
Time Connected 02:59:37
Downstream Rate 8128kbps
Upstream Rate 448kbps
ProtocolPPPoA
VPI/VCI0/38
EncapsulationVC MUX
Line StatusSHOWTIME
Link TypeInterleaved Path
ADSL ModeG992.1 (G.DMT)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Ping Issues

Have you tried a tracert to bbc.co.uk?
Have you tried a using online ping tool to ping your own IP address? -- that's assuming your router allows ping from wan.
http://ping.eu/ping/
Do you have a spare router to try? or have you rebooted your own router recently?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Ping Issues

@Gwigz - when you were with Sky, were you on LLU (Sky equipment in the exchange) or was it a BTwholesale service?
You are presently synchronised at full speed for a MaxDSL (ADSL 1) connection. If Sky have unbundled the exchange then they'll have had you on ADSL 2+, and your upstream would likely have been around 900 Kb - 1 Mb with them. You may well also have had a much better download speed. Your line is actually out-performing what the Kitz Calculator http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php shows for your 35 dB Downstream attenuation.
What does https://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search say is available at your exchange?
What make/model of router is it? Does it have a selection of available modes? Depending on the results from the Sam Knows page linked above, your router may just be on the wrong mode, although most have an "Auto" setting, but yours may just be set to G.DMT (ADSL 1) instead of ADSL 2+, if it's available.
Gwigz
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 20-01-2015

Re: Ping Issues

Thanks for the replies you two, I appreciate it a lot, here's links  and related output. Not sure what's with the traceroute attempts but they're failing. The router is set to auto, I'll have a poke around with it tomorrow but I am fairly sure my download speed is the same as before.
https://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/SSHWK
ping.eu
--- PING x (x) 56(84) bytes of data. ---
--- x ping statistics ---
packets transmitted 9
received 0
packet loss 100 %
time 8014 ms

traceroute www.bbc.co.uk
traceroute: Warning: www.bbc.co.uk has multiple addresses; using 212.58.246.92
traceroute to www.bbc.net.uk (212.58.246.92), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  0.861 ms  0.883 ms  0.716 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptw-ag02.plus.net (195.166.128.196)  39.479 ms  41.075 ms  36.544 ms
3  link-b-central10.ptw-gw02.plus.net (212.159.2.150)  128.659 ms  39.217 ms  39.704 ms
4  xe-0-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net (212.159.0.250)  151.783 ms  135.421 ms  140.792 ms
5  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.4)  140.413 ms  181.280 ms  157.897 ms
6  * * *
7  * * *
8  * * *
9  *^C
traceroute: Warning: www.bbc.co.uk has multiple addresses; using 212.58.246.95
traceroute to www.bbc.net.uk (212.58.246.95), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  0.815 ms  0.635 ms  0.569 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptw-ag02.plus.net (195.166.128.196)  1476.287 ms  2326.115 ms  1915.797 ms
3  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net (212.159.2.148)  1066.121 ms  285.766 ms  188.374 ms
4  xe-0-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net (212.159.0.248)  44.131 ms  138.250 ms  88.801 ms
5  * * *
6  *^C
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Ping Issues

a) The ping times are even worse from a online tool.
Edit:
100 packet loss, looks like the router may be rejecting ping from wan.
b) The tracert shows bad ping times at the plusnet gateway.
Can you please reboot the router, best done in daylight hours to maximize sync speed, and retest a tracert to bbc.co.uk.
ie routers left running for long times can sometimes develop issues which go away with a reboot -- it's worth a try Wink
It would be nice if you could test with a different router just to eliminate the router, but it's beginning to look like a local exchange issue. Hopefully a PN rep will be able to investigate that tomorrow.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Ping Issues

Definitely something wrong there. As npr says, best try a router reboot in daylight.
As far as your exchange goes, the Sam Knows link shows no 21CN WBC available, so you're stuck with 448 upstream, unless you cough up the extra for Max Premium - it doubles the upstream speed but costs nearly £8 a month more.
It shows Sky as a LLU provider, so with them you would have been on totally different hardware at the exchange - the only thing in common with your present service is the copper pair from your premises to the exchange.
On the brighter side, it also says fibre is available in some areas - what does the checker say? http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,956
Thanks: 419
Fixes: 152
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Ping Issues

It is beginning to look like a local exchange capacity issue however we haven't had any capacity reports for 20cn lines for about a month.
I'm going to chase this up and see what I can find out for you.
---------------
Right our suppliers have stated there's no capacity issues. You have a static IP so to investigate further can you set up a ping graph at the link below
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping
That'll help us get this moving in the right direction
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Ping Issues

Quote from: Matthew

Right our suppliers have stated there's no capacity issues. You have a static IP

If BT say the problem is not at their exchange (they would say that),  could the problem be a IP conflict?
Is it worth trying the OP on a different IP address or on a dynamic address?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,642
Thanks: 635
Fixes: 160
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Ping Issues

Key points that I've gathered throughout the thread so far, please correct me if I'm wrong!
- The speed of the line is fine.
- The pings are terrible.
If there's an IP conflict we'd get a flag on our side, also that'd cause degradation in the general performance of the line, not just the speed.
Quote
I know other people on ADSL, test what though?

Borrow their router, update the connection details to yours and see what your ping shows as when using their router. Make sure that you keep your internal setup as simple as possible during testing, so an ethernet cable direct to the router if possible to rule out any issues with wireless, homeplugs, internal switches etc.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff