cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

gnicholson8
Grafter
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

First Question
So basically I have a phone line fault (no dial tone or connected line) and my fibre is still up but connected at a much slower speed than it should (40Mbit/s instead of 76mbit/s) and a very very high ping and frequent droppages (not sure how many and if a PN staff reads this I would be curious to see)
I have raised a fault for the phone line and they now need to send an engineer out (as it hasn't been resolved at the exchange by today like it was suppose to) Now I am certain the phone line fault is what is causing the fibre problem but should I open a separate fault report for the fibre or is it covered by the one fault? I am certain the one fault report covers both but worth checking.

Second Question
This is more of a phone question but don't fancy opening two threads for a "similar" issue so figured I'd ask it on this post too.
I was obviously asked if I was in the master socket, which I am (no extension cables at all) I did disconnect my fibre, line, removed the first face plate (bottom one for phone only) connected the phone, didn't work so removed the second plate (removes the fibre socket exposing the pure test socket) Nope, no dial tone, I figured this is enough to eliminate internal wiring. Secondly I have tried two handsets (both are wireless though) again, no dial tone. If I ring my house it rings (then goes to voice mail after a while) I assume this should be enough to eliminate internal problems ie handset problems too.
Third Question
Again, kinda phone related but a quickie, Is there anyway to check my voice mails as my phone line is down, as my number still "rings" if you call it, and eventually goes through to my PN voice mail I was wondering if there is anyway I can call in and check the mail box.
6 REPLIES
reserved
Grafter
Posts: 617
Registered: ‎08-11-2008

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

This may help a little:
Phone needs 2 wires to work but broadband will work over only 1 wire but speed is slower.
Loos as though it could be a line fault, possibly one wire disconnected.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

Hi gnicholson8,
First, the connection log for the past week -
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13866930487779.png"/>

Now, to address your questions:
1) I strongly suspect the phone line fault is causing the broadband fault, but in case it's not we can't actually have a fault open on both at the same time anyway - we'd need to wait for the phone line fault to be closed off before we could raise a fault on the broadband.
2) Yes, that's definitely enough to confirm it is a line fault, with the exception of the wired/wireless phones. Having said that though if you know those wireless phones work (e.g. they've been tested at another premises and work fine) then there's nothing to worry about.
3) You can only do this if you've opted for the more expensive Voicemail Extra I'm afraid, details are on our site here at http://www.plus.net/support/phone/call_features.shtml#voicemail
Hope that helps.
gnicholson8
Grafter
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

Cheers Matt.
Right.... So the engineer arrived, basically what had happened is one of my lines had come disconnected/loose at the exchange so he's repaired that and I have a working phone line now. However my Fibre speed hasn't increased (even with resetting the Openreach Modem & my Router) and the engineer said my speed should increase straight away.
Now the "IP Profile" for my line, according to http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ is
Quote
Download speedachieved during the test was - 43.63 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speed is 12 Mbps-58.07 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 58.07 Mbps

Yes I should be connecting at near max (76Mbit/s) which is what I was receiving before the fault. How do I go about getting that fixed?
gnicholson8
Grafter
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

Okay, so this is weird :/
Phoned support (impressed with the wait time, less than a minute)
He said the IP Profile is showing at what I put above and he's going to put a SNR Reset on the line but I thought an SNR Reset required an engineer to come out for Fibre (per a post I saw on here before) He also said it would take a minimum of 24 hours, Cant anyone clarify?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

Hi, it certainly looks like it's underway - he's raised a broadband fault for it (which is the only way we can get this done) so I'd expect that to be updated soon.
gnicholson8
Grafter
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Phone line problem & Fibre problem, same fault or two separate faults?

Yeah, No update from you guys but an engineer called me and turned up on my doorstep so Plus.net Thank you very much. back to my normal speeds.