cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pathetic speed and router

aafzal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎29-11-2015

Pathetic speed and router

Since joined in January my Adsl broadband speed have been so pathetic. Sometime I get 11 mb on restart the router or some time it's only 1.2 mb.

I have to restart router 4 times every day sometime even can't browse the website.

I believe that may be router is useless or the service provider. I was much happy with the Sky.

Is there anything you advice, even spoken to customer service but all in vein.

Cheers
7 REPLIES
Jonpe
Champion
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 561
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: Pathetic speed and router

Maybe the problem is that you keep restarting the router.

aafzal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎29-11-2015

Re: Pathetic speed and router

That doesn't make sense as i said cant browse the website that is why i have to restart the router to get it working.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,643
Thanks: 298
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Pathetic speed and router

Actually it makes perfect sense, your line is controlled by a system called DLM, Dynamic Line Management, it looks at line conditions, and automatically adjusts speeds to the highest it thinks the line can cope with. So if it sees frequent disconnects it will try and slow things down.

Have a look on the help pages about how you can improve your speeds.

 

aafzal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎29-11-2015

Re: Pathetic speed and router

It wasn't the case with sky.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Pathetic speed and router

Is this happening via a wired or wireless connection?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
pvmb
Rising Star
Posts: 306
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-02-2014

Re: Pathetic speed and router


@aafzal wrote:

That doesn't make sense as i said cant browse the website that is why i have to restart the router to get it working.

 


Assuming you are on ADSL, my advice in these circumstances is, in the first instance, ensure your phone line is quiet before you reboot your router. Listen on the phone - use 17070 option 2 (Quiet Line Test) - and only reboot if after listening for some while you cannot hear any crackling or fizzing. If there is continuous or continuing intermittent noise then you may have a line fault, or faulty or unreliable/dirty plugs and sockets in your home. Sort this out before rebooting the router.

aafzal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎29-11-2015

Re: Pathetic speed and router

WiFi 

 


@Chris wrote:

Is this happening via a wired or wireless connection?