cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet loss effecting gaming

ChrisBe
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2023

Packet loss effecting gaming

Hello

We have had plusnet for a number of years, had the telephone line replaced between the house and the telephone pole outside and have the unlimited fibre option.

 

Recorded speeds are good (download circa 70mbps) but are suffering from packet loss and ping spikes which are having a significant impact on my two son's gaming experience. They have ethernet connection with the router which is the latest plusnet hub (installed last year).

My son has used the foilowing tests

https://www.speedtest.net/ showed a lot of download, and particularly upload latency

https://packetlosstest.com/ showed upload packet loss (this reached 10.7% in an earlier test) and some ping spikes:

https://ping.canbeuseful.com/ showed ping spikes, and higher average ping than he has experienced in the past:

Any ideas on what we can do to improve performance?

 

14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

You've probably got bufferbloat on your router.

 

You can test for bufferbloat here - https://www.waveform.com/tools/bufferbloat 

For gaming you should be aiming for a 'Bufferbloat Grade" of  or  A+

 


@ChrisBe wrote:

 

Any ideas on what we can do to improve performance?


 

Read the 'Frequently Asked Questions" below the bufferbloat test result

.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming


@ChrisBe wrote:

 

... ... the router which is the latest plusnet hub (installed last year).

 

Do you happen to have an old Plusnet "Hub One" stored away somewhere ?

as there was a recent topic on here where the gaming ping problem with a "Hub Two" was solved by fitting an old "Hub One"

.

ChrisBe
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2023

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

We do have an older hub1 but to be honest it was getting a bit knackered. Prior to getting the most recent router we had gone the 2nd hand BT hub route.,

 

The test on the'bufferboat' website said the current system is rated as a 'C' - which it says means great for everything except the gaming.

 

Thanks for the links -I'll take a look.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Yikes !  a  C  grade in that test is a ping latency increase between 60ms and 200ms

whereas for gaming you'd probably want to be consistently better than say 20ms.

 

However using a router with anti-bufferbloat features does work to eliminate ping spikes.

Here's my typical test result -

Screenshot 2022-09-02 at 16-14-11 Bufferbloat and Internet Speed Test - Waveform.png

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,574
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

@ChrisBe want me to run a speed test for you?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
ChrisBe
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2023

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Hello yes that would be useful.

I would say that running speed tests at this end show decent upload+ download, but that is not where the problem seems to be.

 

Regards

 

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,962
Thanks: 1,570
Fixes: 481
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Hi @ChrisBe 

I've tested your line and I can't see anything wrong that would cause this.

At the risk of checking the obvious they're not connected to the fourth ethernet port on the Hub 2 are they? This port is designed for WAN connections and I believe won't fully work if it's being used as a normal port

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
ChrisBe
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2023

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

No  - ethernet plugged into ports 1 and 2. Thankyou for checking.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Has anyone checked that the Plusnet "Current Line Speed" is  LESS THAN  BT Wholesale "IP Profile"  ?

 

It certainly makes a measurable difference on my connection when the "Current Line Speed" is set too high,

although I can't remember whether this only applies to connections using a static IP address (as mine is)

.

ChrisBe
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎30-07-2023

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Current plan is that we are updating the connection to full fibre in a couple of weeks. If the increased bandwidth doesn't help we'll look at a third party router with the hub 2 as a bridge.

Thanks tor all the replies. It has helped us learn a lot very quickly.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Other than for really old ADSL connections, increasing the internet connection bandwidth is unlikely to make much difference to ping spikes - because speed isn't the problem.  For gaming the issue is more about the correct prioritisation of small data packets when ANYTHING else is happening on your home network. Having said that, full fibre will probably reduce your overall latency by a couple of milliseconds compared to FTTC.

Good luck with your upgrade.

RPMozley
Pro
Posts: 1,339
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Current line speed only affects those of us on fixed IPs (or those with “broadband firewall” switched “on”/not off).
Speaking of BT test, Additional diagnostic is not working for me currently so can’t even check against our “line speed” (always returns an error retrieving additional data)!
That's RPM to you!!
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

It hasn't work for me using Firefox for months now, however I can usually get through <Additional diagnostic> using Chromium browser but then the <Download Report> button doesn't respond.

I just tested it in Chromium, and got my IP profiles etc. -

 

Screenshot of Additional Diagnostic 3-Aug-2023.jpg

RPMozley
Pro
Posts: 1,339
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Packet loss effecting gaming

Sadly no good with anything I’ve tried. Multiple browsers and devices, all come back with an error from the BT database. Some open retch foul up I would guess. All I can do is wait for it to clear.

Anyway enough of that. We await your news update @ChrisBe, whenever you have some that is, not trying to rush you or anything.
That's RPM to you!!