cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PCLOS file sharing problem

waldron
Grafter

PCLOS file sharing problem

I hope someone can help me with this one. I'm fairly new to PCLOS (about one week). I've tried to join the PCLOS forum but can't get the confirmation email to activate the account, so I can't post on there.  My problem is trying to access networked Windows/NTFS files from PCLOS. All the threads on the other forum relate to the other way round - they just say that Windows to PCLOS should work "out of the box".
I have a dual boot pc running Windows/XP and PCLOS, and another running Vista (with the files I want to access). I believe the NTFS sharing is set up correctly as it works successfully between XP and Vista. PCC/Security says smb is running, and if I type smb://192.168.1.4 in the home folder I can see all the NTFS files. From Vista I can also see the PCLOS files, so the Workgroup is set up correctly.
PCC/Mount Points/Set Samba Mount Points - if I Search Services, I only get the PCLOS server shown, not the Vista one.
My Computer/Remote Places/Samba Shares shows the Workgroup, and then the two servers in the workgroup (including the Vista one). But when I double-click on the Vista server, nothing happens at first, then I get "Timeout on Server".
Obviously I am missing something, but I have no idea what.
7 REPLIES 7
Waldo
Grafter

Re: PCLOS file sharing problem

Little more than a guess, but....
I think the problem may be that Vista’s default security policy is to only use NTLMv2 authentication which may not be supported by the version of samba  you're using.
Assuming you have the latest Samba from the PCLOS repositories, changing Vista's policy to use NTLM is probably the easiest option.
artificer
Grafter

do you have smb4k installed?  that, apparently, makes it easier to set up.  what user name are you using on pclinuxos.com?
waldron
Grafter

@artificer
I do have smb4k installed (v 0.9.5-1)