cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Outage in North Sheffield?

robshef
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 22-08-2014

Outage in North Sheffield?

My broadband died just before 11:30pm now using my phone data. Found something about maintenance in Manchester, but could affect other areas. Just wondered if anyone else is affected?
21 REPLIES
cwaite
Grafter
Posts: 186
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-01-2013

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Same here in South east Essex lost connection at around 11:20pm router shows its authenticating but no connection.
robshef
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 22-08-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Bit far from me but interesting, mine has just a minute ago come back, so could be a coincidence.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Mine is off in Scotland south of Glasgow
fatdeeman
Grafter
Posts: 274
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Mine was off in Bridgend South Wales but seems ok again now
mcminnad
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 06-08-2013

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Dropped out here, near Portsmouth, and now router falling to reconnect with authentication errors Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 12
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Mine went out about 1/2 hour ago in Wilts. Reconnected with a completely different IP address etc and couldn't send email or browse. Rebooted BT modem and kept trying to connect via router. Eventually came back a few minutes ago.
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
daaahhnuh
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: 17-02-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Mine's just come back (in Suffolk).  I had authentication errors.  It did connect a few times, but the router got assigned an internal 172 IP and the DNS got set to the BT Wholesale gateway (62.6.38.125).  Obviously all traffic was routing into the abyss.
somebloke
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 23-08-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Mine also went down around the same time, but it's still down in the West London area!!  Angry
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,969
Thanks: 1,761
Fixes: 135
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Looks like Plusnet dropped around 150,000+ customers including myself in South Sheffield.
I'm back online now.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

edgeways
Grafter
Posts: 128
Registered: 12-10-2007

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Internet down here also for past hour location coastal Kent. Just reconnected.
No announcement on service status.
SiNNER
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 22-07-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Angry Outage here as  well in the Mayfair/London area
somebloke
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 23-08-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

No point trying to ring support I'm on 25mins. . and counting...
somebloke
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 23-08-2014

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

From the service status page
Quote
22/08/2014 @ 23:56
Recently this evening we experienced a significant drop in end user sessions across our broadband network.
This will have caused a large volume of customers to lose connectivity to the Internet. Reports from customers suggest that you should now be able to reconnect.
If you are struggling to connect to the Internet then please try powering off your modem or router for an hour or so before powering it back up and attempting to re-establish a connection to the Internet.
We'll provide another update tomorrow morning.

Kind regards,
Adam Walker
Customer Relation
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Outage in North Sheffield?

Service status was posted around midnight here. I caught the announcement on twitter and got the service status e-mail shortly after.
The posted advice if you can't reconnect is to power off your modem / router for an hour and try again.
To me an hour seems a bit much, 15 minutes usually does the trick.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)