cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

stuoliver54
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-04-2013

Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

Hi, can someone check my profile for me, I have run bt speed checker and iam only getting 39meg but my plusnet account says iam on the 72meg profile so surly I should be getting faster speeds.
thanks
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

What does the extended test say your line profile is on the line checker ?
Also are you running the test on wired or wireless connection - that can make a huge difference.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

If you are referring to your Current Line speed (Login required) this should match the BT IP Profile which you can get by running the BTw Performance test (ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test.
Do a Copy and Paste of the results and post here (no need to grab an image).
stuoliver54
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-04-2013

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

Can any of the mods help with the above?
stuoliver54
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-04-2013

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

Hi according to my account iam on 21meg but i should be on 70meg?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,990
Thanks: 1,239
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

Us Mods are just customers like your self.
The people you need are the Digital Care Team tomorrow.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Dmitchell
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 11-04-2011

Re: Only on 39meg on a 72meg line

Hello stuoliver54.
I've had a quick look at your line, we're detecting a possible "Copper Joint fault". This will be the reason your line profile has dropped to 21mb.
I can see however you initially posted this thread on 14th April. Have you had this problem since then, or was it temporarily resolved?
If you wouldn't mind running through the questions here, this will help us raise this with our suppliers and get it sorted for you.
Any other questions feel free to shout up.
Dean